Skip redundant pieces
KU Home  :  KU News

KU News Release

More Information


University Relations

p (785) 864-3256
f (785) 864-3339
October 27, 2005
Contact: Danny Kaiser, Office of Vice Provost for Student Success, (785) 864-4060..

8 KU faculty named finalists for H.O.P.E. award; winner to be announced Nov. 5

LAWRENCE -- The winner of the 2005 H.O.P.E. Award -- Honor for an Outstanding Progressive Educator -- will be announced in ceremonies between the first and second quarters of the Nov. 5 KU vs. Nebraska football game in Memorial Stadium. Game time is noon.

Eight finalists nominated by KU seniors were selected by an e-mail ballot. Representatives of the Board of Class Officers select the winner through interviews with the finalists. The finalists are:

- Cynthia Akagi, assistant professor, health, sport and exercise sciences
- Kerry Benson, lecturer, journalism
- Jonathan Earle, associate professor, history
- Mark Haug, lecturer, business
- Charles "Chuck" Marsh, associate professor, journalism
- Edward McBride, lecturer, civil, environmental and architectural engineering
- James Orr, professor and chair, biological sciences
- Tim Shaftel, the Jordan Haines distinguished professor of business

Several of the 2005 finalists were selected as finalists in recent years: Akagi in 2003, Benson in 2002, Haug, Marsh, McBride and Shaftel in 2004. Shaftel was also a finalist in 1998 and in 1999. McBride's father, also an engineer and also named Edward, won the award in 1974.

The H.O.P.E. award is the only honor given exclusively by students for teaching excellence. The winner, selected by ballot and interviews, receives a monetary award and recognition on a permanent plaque displayed in the Kansas Union.

The Class of 1959 established the award to recognize outstanding teaching and concern for students. With one exception only one award has been bestowed each year. In 1972, three professors tied and each received a H.O.P.E. award: the late John Bremner in journalism, Arno Knapper in business and Elizabeth Schultz in English. Two professors have received the award more than once: the late Clark Bricker in chemistry received the award in 1966, 1970, 1979 and 1983; and Charles "Rick" Snyder in psychology won in 1991, 2002 and 2003.

David Shulenburger, KU executive vice chancellor and provost, will join the senior class officers and representatives of the Board of Class Officers as the finalists are introduced for the award presentation during the Nov. 5 game.
The students joining the award presentation are:

From Prairie Village
Greyson Andrew Clymer, senior majoring in business administration and Board of Class Officers representative, is the son of David and Melanie Clymer; graduate of Shawnee Mission East High School

From Derby
Garrett Martin Gehrer, sophomore in accounting and Board of Class Officers representative, is the son Terry Smith; graduate of Derby High School

From Topeka
Jenni Elise Fox, senior in biology and senior class secretary, daughter of Robert and Claudia Fox; graduate of Washburn Rural High School

From Phoenix
Sarah Christine Lathrop, senior in journalism and class secretary, daughter of Wilson and Bonnie Lathrop; graduate of Scottsdale Christian Academy

From Springfield
Whitney Leigh Gallagher, sophomore in chemistry and Board of Class Officers representative, is the daughter of Rick and Gena Gallagher; graduate of Springfield Catholic High School

From Edmond
Ryan Michael Northup, sophomore in human biology, is the son of John and Jean Northup; graduate of Edmond Memorial High School

From Oklahoma City
Lauren Hope Taylor, senior in journalism and Board of Class Officers representative; graduate of Bishop McGuinness High School

From Tulsa
Whitney Megan Ryan, senior in psychology and senior class president, daughter of Phillip and Charlotte Ryan; graduate of Jenks High School


The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus. | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045