Skip redundant pieces
KU Home  :  KU News

KU News Release

More Information


University Relations

p (785) 864-3256
f (785) 864-3339
October 6, 2005
Contact: Lynn Bretz, University Relations, (785) 864-8866.

KU chancellor names committee to conduct national search for provost

LAWRENCE -- University of Kansas Chancellor Robert Hemenway today named an 18-member committee to begin a national search for the next provost and executive vice chancellor for the KU Lawrence campus.

Provost David Shulenburger announced last week that after overseeing the Lawrence campus academic enterprise for 13 years, he will step down at the end of June 2006. KU plans for the new provost to be in place by July 1.

The search committee will be chaired by Jeff Aube, professor of medicinal chemistry.

Other members of the search committee are Elizabeth Asiedu, associate professor of economics; Daryle Busch, Roy A. Roberts distinguished professor of chemistry; Victor Frost, Dan F. Servey distinguished professor of electrical engineering and computer science; John Gaunt, dean of architecture;

Estela Gavosto, associate chair of mathematics; Kathy Jansen, comptroller's office; Toni Johnson, assistant professor of social welfare; Paul Koch, professor of business; Stan Lombardo, professor of classics; Kathleen McCluskey-Fawcett, senior vice provost; Karen Miller, senior vice chancellor, KU Medical Center, and dean of nursing and allied health; Marlesa Roney, vice provost for student success; Val Stella, distinguished professor of pharmaceutical chemistry;

Denise Stephens, vice provost for information services; Nick Sterner, student body president; Susan Twombly, professor of teaching and leadership; and Deanell Tacha, KU graduate and chief judge of the U. S. Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit.


The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus. | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045