Skip redundant pieces
KU Home  :  KU News

KU News Release

More Information


University Relations

p (785) 864-3256
f (785) 864-3339
September 29, 2005
Contact: Diana Robertson, Housing office, (785) 864-7217.

KU Student Housing announces 2005-06 student leaders

LAWRENCE -- The University of Kansas Department of Student Housing has announced its 2005-06 student leaders, including resident assistants for KU's eight residence halls, proctors for 11 scholarship halls and the top four officers for the four university housing organizations.

Among the duties for the 116 students chosen as live-in resident assistants or proctors are serving as role models, handling administrative and programming duties, and performing paraprofessional advisory functions for the residents.

Housing organization officers are elected to represent their fellow student residents as well as to organize and facilitate shared social, intellectual and cultural concerns and activities.

In addition, Student Housing has selected its student executive committee that will be helping plan the No Frills Conference, a regional student housing leadership conference to be held Feb. 3-5 on KU�s Lawrence campus. Universities from Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota and South Dakota plus Manitoba in Canada that are part of the Midwest Affiliate of College and University Residence Halls (MACURH) are among scheduled participants. MACURH is one of eight regions that make up the National Association of College and University Residence Halls.

About 5,000 people live in KU Student Housing facilities, according to Diana Robertson, associate director for residence life in the Department of Student Housing. Student housing groups include:

-- The Association of University Residence Halls (AURH) includes Corbin, Gertrude Sellards Pearson, Ellsworth, Hashinger, Lewis, McCollum, Oliver and Templin residence halls for single male and female students.

-- The All Scholarship Hall Council (ASHC) comprises Douthart, Margaret Amini, Miller, Rieger, Sellards and Watkins scholarship halls for women and Battenfeld, Grace Pearson, K.K. Amini, Pearson and Stephenson scholarship halls for men.

-- Jayhawker Towers Tenants Association (JTTA) includes four multistory buildings for single-student apartment housing.

-- Stouffer Neighborhood Association (SNA) represents Stouffer Place Apartments designed to house students with children and/or students who are married.

Students who are resident assistants, proctors, association officers or No Frills Conference executive committee members are listed online by Kansas county, state or country, hometown, level in school, major and, when available, parents and high school attended.


The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus. | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045