Skip redundant pieces
KU Home  :  KU News

KU News Release

More Information


University Relations

p (785) 864-3256
f (785) 864-3339
Aug. 30, 2006
Contact: Matt Sparks, chapter president, (785) 843-2655.

KU Phi Kappa Psi fraternity chapter wins eight national awards

LAWRENCE — The University of Kansas chapter of Phi Kappa Psi fraternity won eight awards at the 73rd Grand Arch Council, held Aug. 9-13 in New Orleans, La.

Three national awards went to individuals.

Scott Shorten, a spring 2006 graduate from Stilwell and past president of KU’s Interfraternity Council, received the Undergraduate of the Year Award. Shorten is a first-year student in KU’s School of Medicine.

Esther Wolfe, house mother, received the Anna Ritchie Letterman Silver Bowl for Outstanding Contribution by a Female. Now in her 10th year as housemother for the chapter, Wolfe’s mandatory weekly etiquette lessons for all incoming freshman are regarded as excellent training. She conducts hour-long sessions for eight weeks on topics such as knowing which fork to use in a table setting and the value of a firm handshake.

John J. Ziegelmeyer Jr. of Lawrence, chapter alumnus, received the Edward H. Knight award of Merit for Outstanding Alumni Contribution award. Ziegelmeyer chairs the fraternity’s National Housing Corporation and was recognized for service to his chapter and the national fraternity since his initiation in 1970.

Awards to the chapter were:

— The Thomas Cochran Campbell Award for Ritual Exemplification, which recognizes a chapter’s excellence in ensuring ceremonies are conducted according to fraternity codes
— Overall Membership Excellence Award
— Senior Involvement Award
— Ralph R. Haney Award for Financial Excellence
— Risk Management Award for Life Safety and Risk Avoidance, which recognizes the chapter’s efforts to educate its members about health, particularly hygiene when living in a group setting, as well as discussions with alumni about professional risks

Representing the chapter at the event were chapter officers and Shorten, Wolfe and Ziegelmeyer. The student officers are listed below by hometown, year in school, major, parents’ names, high school and leadership position.

From Overland Park (66223)
Christopher K. Bubeck, junior in engineering, son of Kyle and Kathy Bubeck; Blue Valley High School; secretary

From Overland Park (66214)
Matthew Nelson Sparks, senior in finance and political science, son of Stephen and Martha Sparks; Shawnee Mission South High School; president

From Mission Hills (66208)
Alexendar Salamatbakhsh, sophomore in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences preparing to study law, son of Essi and Teresa Salamatbakhsh; Bishop Miege High School; philanthropy chair

From Stilwell
Scott M. Shorten, spring 2006 graduate in business administration and a first-year student in the KU School of Medicine, son of Debbie Shorten; Blue Valley High School; past president

From Freemont
Jeffery Baumert, senior in economics and Spanish, son of Cynthia Sawyer; Fremont High School; vice president


The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus. | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045