Skip redundant pieces
KU Home  :  KU News

KU News Release

More Information


University Relations

p (785) 864-3256
f (785) 864-3339
Feb. 10, 2006
Contact: Danny Kaiser, assistant to the vice provost for student success, (785) 864-4060.

KU BOCO honors Student Success staff member for service to students

LAWRENCE — Santos Núñez, program director for the Multicultural Resource Center at the University of Kansas, will be presented the Citation for Leadership and Achievement in Student Services Award during the men’s basketball game Feb. 11 against Iowa State.

The C.L.A.S.S. Award is presented by the Board of Class Officers to an unclassified staff member who works in a department or organization overseen by the Office of the Vice Provost for Student Success. It recognizes distinguished achievements in student services that show a commitment to the needs of KU students and contribute to the welfare of students.

“We chose Santos because it was obvious that she’s very passionate about her job and cares about students. She was exactly what we were looking for with this award,” said Whitney Ryan, Board of Class Officers president.

Núñez oversees programs such as the Diversity Training Institute and the Colors of KU Diversity and Leadership retreat. She also facilitates multicultural awareness training sessions for faculty, staff and student organizations.

She earned a bachelor’s degree from the University of North Texas and a master’s degree in higher education from the University of South Carolina. Núñez is a doctoral student in higher education at KU.

Núñez is a graduate of Decatur High School in Texas and is the daughter of Felipe and Ernestina Núñez of Decatur. She has two sisters living in Decatur, Alexandra Rodarte and Monica Lopez.

The award was established by the class of 1987. A plaque bearing the names of previous award winners is in the stairwell on Level 5 of the Kansas Union.

C.L.A.S.S. award winners:

David Ambler, 1987
Pat Kehde, 1988
Barbara Ballard, 1989
Clark Coan, 1990
Sue Morrell, 1991
Jim Henry, 1992
Jeff Weinberg, 1993
Kelli Zuel, 1994
Ann Eversole, 1995
Bill Nelson, 1996
Mary Myers, 1997
Fred McElhenie, 1998
Danny Kaiser, 1999
Richard Nelson, 1999
Robert Page, 2000
Randall Rock, 2001
Mary Chappell, 2002
David Ambler, 2002
Linda Mullens, 2003
David Mucci, 2003
Reuben Perez, 2004
Ken Stoner, 2004
Mary Ann Rasnak, 2005


The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus. | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045