Skip redundant pieces
KU Home  :  KU News

KU News Release

More Information


University Relations

p (785) 864-3256
f (785) 864-3339
July 21, 2006
Contact: Dorice Ellliott, Department of English, (785) 864-2521.

KU English department names writing, research, teaching award winners

Go to county and state directory

LAWRENCE — Fiction authors, playwrights, poets, essayists, outstanding scholars and teachers in the Department of English at the University of Kansas were honored this spring with awards and scholarships.

Jim Arnold of Austin, Texas, presented the first Maud Jackson Scholarship recognizing an outstanding achievement in creative writing to Kathryn Seibel, Lawrence junior in English. The scholarship honors Arnold’s grandmother, a former KU English student. Upon her death, Maud Jackson’s family found a treasure trove of stories she had written over a period of many years in her home.

KU Endowment manages the funds for the Jackson scholarship and the other annual awards and scholarships presented by the English department.

The Student Association of Graduates in English presented Susan K. Harris, Hall Distinguished Professor of American Literature and Culture, with the 2006 Mabel Fry Award for Outstanding Teaching in English.

Four graduate teaching assistants received Outstanding Instructor Awards: Anna Katherine Egging, Eudora; Jennie Jo Joiner, Lawrence; Stephanie Ann Scurto, Oskaloosa; and Emily D. Wicktor, Lawrence. Scurto is a master’s degree student; the others are doctoral students.

Other awards for outstanding work in the study English literature or composition included seven Helen Rhoda Hoopes Awards for undergraduate women; the James A. Gowen Memorial Award for research; 10 Edwin M. Hopkins Awards, eight for undergraduates and two for graduates; five James B. Kennedy Awards for undergraduates; the Douglas G. Merrill Award for excellence in research; two Kenneth Rockwell Awards, one for undergraduates and one for graduates; the Anne Marie Turner Award for research; and the Selden Lincoln Whitcomb Award for teaching and scholarship.

Awards for outstanding writing included the Victor Contoski Award for fiction and Victor Contoski Award for poetry; Ilus W. Davis Award for scholarly writing; Grant K. Goodman Playwriting Award; James E. Gunn Award for science fiction writing; William Herbert Carruth Poetry Award; Robert Allan Maxwell Nature Writing Award; Thomas J. O’Donnell Award for creative nonfiction writing; Harry and Jessie Jacobs Prizes in the Humanities for fiction, essays and poetry; Edgar Wolfe Fiction Award; and E.O. Whitcomb Award for fiction.

Scholarships awarded were the William Albrecht Memorial Scholarship; Zarel and Ruth Spears Scholarships; Nancy Stockwell Scholarship; Elsie Oravetz Scholarship; and Peedee Brown Nontraditional Student Scholarships.

More than 60 students received awards or scholarships. They are listed below by hometown, level in school, major, parents’ names, award or scholarship and high school (when available).


The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus. | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045