Skip redundant pieces
KU Home  :  KU News

KU News Release

More Information


University Relations

p (785) 864-3256
f (785) 864-3339
July 10, 2006
Contact: Chris McKitterick, Gunn Center for the Study of Science Fiction, (785) 864-2509.

KU Center for the Study of Science Fiction names award winners for 2005 books

Book Cover - Mindscan by Robert J Sawyer

LAWRENCE — The Gunn Center for the Study of Science Fiction at the University of Kansas has announced the winners of the John W. Campbell Memorial Award for best science fiction novel of 2005 and the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award for best short science fiction work of 2005.

The awards were presented at a dinner Friday as part of the center’s annual Campbell Conference.

Robert J. Sawyer won the Campbell award for Mindscan (Tor Books), and Paolo Bacigalupi won the Sturgeon award for The Calorie Man (Fantasy & Science Fiction).

Second- and third-place Campbell award winners are Robert Charles Wilson for Spin (Tor Books) and Ian R. Macleod for The Summer Isles (Aio Publishing), respectively.

Second- and third-place Sturgeon award winners are Ian MacDonald for The Little Goddess (Asimov’s magazine) and Kelly Link for Magic for Beginners (Fantasy & Science Fiction), respectively.

The Campbell award is one of the three major annual awards for science fiction. The award was created to honor the late editor of Astounding Science Fiction magazine (now called Analog). Many writers and scholars call Campbell, who edited the magazine from 1937 until his death in 1971, the father of modern science fiction.

The Campbell award winner was picked by a committee of academics and authors that includes James Gunn; Chris McKitterick, KU lecturer in English and an associate director of the Gunn center; Gregory Benford; Paul Carter; Elizabeth Anne Hull; Farah Mendlesohn; Pamela Sargent; and Tom Shippey.

The Sturgeon award was established in 1987 by Gunn and the heirs of Theodore Sturgeon as a memorial to one of the great short-story writers in a field distinguished by its short fiction.

The Sturgeon award winner was decided by Gunn; Kij Johnson, an associate director of the Gunn center; Frederik Pohl, a Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America grand master; George Zebrowski, author and editor; and Noel Sturgeon, daughter of Theodore Sturgeon.


The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus. | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045