Skip redundant pieces
KU Home  :  KU News

KU News Release

More Information


University Relations

p (785) 864-3256
f (785) 864-3339
June 14, 2006
Contact: Lynn Cool, math department, (785) 864-7300.

KU math department honors students, faculty at 49th annual spring banquet

Go to county and state directory

LAWRENCE — Twelve students and two professors at the University of Kansas received awards recently for outstanding academic and teaching achievements in the Department of Mathematics.

The department announced recipients of more than $81,900 in awards and scholarships at the 49th annual honors spring banquet in May. Funds are administered through KU Endowment.

The math faculty and students posthumously recognized Andrew Rotman, a sophomore from Downs who died Feb. 16. A promising young scholar, he had received the department’s Rollin S. Wade New Student Scholarship in January. He had also been the recipient of KU’s Summerfield Scholarship and a Dane G. Hansen Scholarship. His parents are Dennis and Mary Rotman of Downs.

Jeff Bergfalk, Mission senior; Matthew Mace, Tecumseh senior; and Brian Moehring, Olathe junior, received cash awards of $100 each for their performance in the national William Lowell Putnam Competition sponsored by the Mathematical Association of America. This mathematics competition is open to all regularly enrolled undergraduates in colleges and universities in the United States and Canada.

Six winners in KU’s 24th annual mathematics prize competition also received cash awards. The junior-level prizes were $300 for first place, $200 for second and $100 for third. Senior-level winners received $450 for first place, $200 for second place and $150 for third place.

Three students received certificates from the Kansas Algebra Program for outstanding contributions to teaching, tutoring and extra duties within the department.

KU’s math department annually recognizes outstanding graduate students with the $1,000 Florence Black Excellence in Teaching Award and the $550 John Bunce Memorial Award. The Florence Black award was established in memory of a faculty member who served from 1918 to 1960. The John Bunce award commemorates a KU mathematics professor who served from 1970 to 1991.

The Mathematics Graduate Students Association presented the G. Baley Price Award for Excellence in Teaching to Robert Brown, professor of mathematics.

Bill Paschke, professor of mathematics, received the $5,000 Max Wells Teaching Award in recognition of outstanding or exemplary teaching.

Math award and scholarship winners are listed below by name, hometown, level in school, major, parents’ names and high schools (when available) and award or scholarship. Individuals with double or triple majors and several awards are listed multiple times.


The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus. | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045