Skip redundant pieces
KU Home  :  KU News

KU News Release

More Information


University Relations

p (785) 864-3256
f (785) 864-3339
June 22, 2006
Contact: Joey Sprague, Department of Sociology, (785) 864-9407.

KU sociology department announces spring student awards

Go to county and state directory

LAWRENCE — University of Kansas sociology students received awards and scholarships for outstanding academic achievements in two department ceremonies last month.

During the 14th annual awards luncheon, graduate students received awards and scholarships totaling $15,428.

Among graduate student recognitions, Ann Hickey, Lawrence doctoral student, received a national Horowitz Foundation for Social Policy Award for her research, “Graying of an Epidemic: Social Policy and HIV/AIDS Education and Prevention.”

Since 1997, the Horowitz Foundation has made about 10 targeted grants each year in amounts from $3,000 to $5,000 for work in major areas of the social sciences, especially to scholars in the early stages of research. In addition to the Horowitz Foundation grant, Hickey received the Eli Ginzberg Award, a special citation with a stipend that recognizes a project involving solutions to major health and welfare problems in urban settings.

Departmental graduate awards included:

— The E. Jackson Baur Award for Research and Study of Social Conflict and Its Resolution honors a KU professor emeritus of sociology. The award is given to support research, professional travel or manuscript preparation and recognizes scholarly accomplishment. James Herynk, Topeka doctoral student in anthropology, earned the award for his research on the dynamic relationships between health and conflict in the context of socially and economically oppressed communities in Guatemala.

— The Centennial Award commemorates 100 years of sociology at KU and supports graduate student-faculty research projects in sociology. Melissa Freiburger, Warrensburg, Mo., doctoral student, and Professor Shirley A. Hill shared the award.

— The Carroll D. Clark Award for Professional Service and Carroll D. Clark Award for Teaching Excellence honor a KU professor emeritus of sociology. The award recognizes outstanding service contributions of sociology graduate students to the department, university and/or profession of sociology.

— Carroll D. Clark Pre- and Post-MA Awards reward those graduate students who have demonstrated outstanding scholarship and integrity and show promise in the discipline of sociology.

— The Christopher Gunn Graduate Student Scholarship in Sociology honors a KU doctoral sociology student. The $2,000 scholarship is to assist a graduate student whose research focuses on innovative approaches to theory and research, with priority given to master’s or doctoral projects.

— Morris C. Pratt Research and Travel Scholarships honor a longtime supporter of the discipline of sociology and advocate for social justice. The scholarships provide for research and/or travel expenses related to presentation of master’s or doctoral work at or participation in a professional conference in the area of social inequality.

At the undergraduate ceremony, the department announced recipients for its Marston M. McCluggage Scholarships as well as sociology students who had earned university-level distinctions, including two Harley S. Nelson Family Scholarships; the Hilden Gibson Award and the Betty Wahlstedt Memorial Award. The Gibson and Wahlstedt awards go to graduating seniors in the social sciences who plan to continue their professional education. Eight undergraduates were inducted into the Alpha Kappa Delta international sociology honor society.

Founded in 1891, KU’s Department of Sociology is the oldest academic sociology department in the United States.

Sociology award and scholarship winners are listed below by hometown, level in school, major, parents’ names and high schools (when available) and award or scholarship. Individuals with more than one major or honor are listed multiple times.


The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus. | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045