Skip redundant pieces
KU Home  :  KU News

KU News Release

More Information


University Relations

p (785) 864-3256
f (785) 864-3339
June 9, 2006
Contact: Anne Tangeman, art history, (785) 864-4713.

KU art history department announces annual student awards

Go to county and state directory

LAWRENCE — The Kress Foundation Department of Art History at the University of Kansas recently announced awards to 54 students for excellence during the 2005-06 academic year.

Mary McCabe, executive director of the Mid-America Arts Alliance of Kansas City, Mo., was guest speaker at the recognition event at the Spencer Museum of Art. KU Endowment administers funds for the awards, which were presented by art history faculty members to their outstanding students.

The Amsden Book Awards were established in 1976 by the late Floyd and Barbara Amsden of Wichita. Faculty members and graduate teaching assistants selected winners based on classroom excellence regardless of class level or major. Forty-two students received books on subjects in which they excelled.

The Scholarship for Academic Excellence in Asian Art History was funded by an anonymous benefactor.

The Eglinski Scholarships for Study Abroad are named for Edmund Eglinski, professor emeritus of art history.

The Tim Mitchell Memorial Art History Award recognizes outstanding academic performance in the graduate program and honors Mitchell, a KU art history faculty member from 1979 until his death in 1993.

The Morris Family Scholarship was established by Mark and Bette Morris of Topeka in honor of their daughter Cynthia, a 1987 KU graduate in art history and German. The award includes a scholarship and an appointment as a graduate teaching assistant with the opportunity for a second graduate teaching assistantship and a curatorial internship in the Spencer Museum of Art.

The Harley S. Nelson Scholarship Award is made available through the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences for noteworthy senior undergraduates in any humanities or social science department.

The Jon O’Neal Photography Award goes to an outstanding undergraduate studying the history of photography. Winners receive photography books. O'Neal, a physician whose KU art history classes led to a career as a professional photographer and screen writer, established the award in 1996.

The Laurence Sickman Award recognizes an outstanding student specializing in Chinese art and honors the former curator of Chinese art and director of the Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art in Kansas City, Mo.

The Marilyn Stokstad Award recognizes graduate students in art history who have made major contributions to the educational mission of the department. Stokstad, the Judith Harris Murphy Professor Emerita of Art History, established the award in 1995.

The Jeanne Stump Outstanding Graduating Senior Award honors a KU art history professor emerita and consists of a cash award and a book.

Students honored are listed below by level in school, major or degree received, school or college, parents’ names and high schools (when available) and award.


The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus. | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045