Skip redundant pieces
KU Home  :  KU News

KU News Release

More Information


University Relations

p (785) 864-3256
f (785) 864-3339
June 9, 2006
Contact: Christie Appelhanz, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, (785) 864-3516.

KU College of Liberal Arts and Sciences honors outstanding faculty, students

LAWRENCE — The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences at the University of Kansas honored outstanding faculty and students this spring with several teaching awards and scholarships. The awards are made possible by support of College alumni through KU Endowment.

The Steeples Service to Kansans Award is given to faculty who provide significant service to the people of Kansas. The amount of the award is $1,000. In addition, each recipient received a $1,000 base adjustment to their salary and was honored at the master’s degree hooding ceremony.

— William Keel, professor and chair, Germanic languages and literatures
— Bill Tuttle, professor of American studies

The Career Achievement Teaching Award is presented to a retired faculty member who has made a significant contribution to the teaching of students at either the undergraduate or graduate level and who has distinguished her or himself through excellence in teaching. The amount of the award is $1,000.

— Norm Slade, professor and senior curator, Natural History Museum and Biodiversity Research Center

The Jessie Marie Senor Cramer and Ann Cramer Root French and Italian and Spanish and Portuguese Faculty Awards are presented annually in the French and Italian and Spanish and Portuguese departments to recognize meritorious teaching and/or research. The amounts of the awards are $5,000 each. Cramer professorships are given every three years in both departments to reward excellence in teaching and research. The professorships are $5,000 per year for three years.

— Cramer professorship in French and Italian: Paul Scott, assistant professor of French
— Cramer award in French and Italian: Allan Pasco, professor of French
— Cramer professorship in Spanish and Portuguese: Jorge Perez, assistant professor of Spanish
— Cramer award in Spanish and Portuguese: Vicky Unruh, professor of Spanish

One J. Michael Young Academic Adviser Award is given in each of the three divisions of the College: social sciences, humanities and natural sciences. Any tenure-track faculty member who advises undergraduate students is eligible. Students are responsible for nominating the advisers they think demonstrate a caring attitude, help them make decisions about educational and career goals and make the effort to be available for help and advising. Recipients of the awards are honored at the College distinction/highest distinction ceremony and are presented with a $500 award as well as an additional $500 added to their base salary.

— Social sciences: Joey Sprague, professor of sociology
— Natural sciences: Chris Haufler, professor and director, Division of Biological Sciences
— Humanities: Bernard “Bud” Hirsch, associate professor of English

Graduate students may nominate any faculty member in the College who has served as an outstanding mentor for the John C. Wright and Byron A. Alexander Graduate Mentor Awards. The awards are $500 each and are presented at the graduate recognition ceremony.

— John C. Wright Graduate Mentor Award: Bill Picking, associate professor of molecular biosciences
— Byron A. Alexander Graduate Mentor Award: A. Townsend Peterson, professor and senior curator, Division of Biological Sciences

Master’s degree students are eligible for for Outstanding Thesis and Research Project Awards, each worth $500. Advisers and departments may nominate one master’s student for each award. Recipients are honored at the master’s degree hooding ceremony.

— Outstanding Research Project Award: Rainer Schiel, physics and astronomy
— Outstanding Thesis Award: Ami Sommariva, American studies

The Peter Gilles Springer Fellowship for Study in France is an award presented to an outstanding graduate student in the departments of French, history or political science. The fellowship is used to support the student’s studies in France and is based on need and merit. The amount of the award is $1,500.

— Thomas Maranda, master’s student in French and Italian

The Howard J. Baumgartel Peace and Justice Award is given to support a graduate student in the College or the School of Business for thesis or dissertation research whose interests, achievements and talents are in the peace and justice field. The amount of the award is $2,500.

— Holona LeAnne Ochs, doctoral student in political science

The Excellence in Undergraduate Advising Award is given to honor a department or program for exemplary work to improve advising at KU. The amount of the award is $1,000.

— Department of Communication Studies


The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus. | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045