Skip redundant pieces
KU Home  :  KU News

KU News Release

More Information


University Relations

p (785) 864-3256
f (785) 864-3339
March 23, 2006
Contact: W. Heath Peterson, KU Alumni Association, (785) 864-4760.

KU to honor 34 high school seniors from five north central Kansas counties April 6

LAWRENCE — Students from 11 Kansas high schools will be honored Thursday, April 6, by the University of Kansas Alumni Association and KU Endowment.

A total of 34 seniors from high schools in Graham, Norton, Osborne, Phillips and Smith counties will be named Kansas Honor Scholars at a 6:15 p.m. reception and dinner program at Dane G. Hansen Memorial Plaza, Community Room, 110 W. Main St., Logan.

Honorees’ names are listed below.

Paul Carttar, executive vice chancellor for external affairs, will speak. Kevin Corbett, president of the Alumni Association, is in charge of award presentations.

The dinner program will cost parents and alumni $9 each. Honored students will be guests of the Alumni Association and KU Endowment.

Polly Bales and Carol Bales, both of Logan, will be site coordinators. County coordinators will be Kevin Baughman and Tom Baumann II, both of Norton, Norton County; Philip Hardman, Osborne, Osborne County; Dave Rankin, Phillipsburg, Graham and Philllips counties; and Sam Wagner, Harlan, Smith County.

The Kansas Honors Program began in 1971. It has honored 95,794 students in the top 10 percent of high school senior classes throughout the state of Kansas.

FirstLastHigh SchoolZIP code
MichaelaBergEastern Heights High School67646
RussellDettmerEastern Heights High School67621
BrittneyTrexlerHill City High School67642
LynetteBelleauHill City High School67642
JordynHermanHill City High School67642
LindseyDavignonHill City High School67642
KimberlyBrinkerLakeside High School67446
ClarkSeamanLakeside High School67474
JessicaWinkelLakeside High School67446
KaitlynNooneLogan High School67646
MeganBrumbaughLogan High School67646
LeeVan LoenenLogan High School67664
JaredSchambergerNatoma High School67623
JoeyCopperNorthern Valley High School67622
ClarkeNelsonNorthern Valley High School67647
ChelseaCoxNorton Community High School67654
RebeccaEbertNorton Community High School67654
ConnieGassmannNorton Community High School67629
RachaelLentzNorton Community High School67654
BradyLinnerNorton Community High School67654
NaomiStreckNorton Community High School67654
HeathVincentNorton Community High School67654
NathanMorrisonOsborne High School67473
RoxanneWallaceOsborne High School67485
MilesWoltersOsborne High School67474
TonyCemanPhillipsburg High School67661
AllisonDusinPhillipsburg High School67661
BrandonKarlinPhillipsburg High School67661
ChristinaMcCallPhillipsburg High School67661
StacyRachowPhillipsburg High School67661
TaylorLyonSmith Center High School66967
DebraFrickerSmith Center High School66967
JessRietzkeWest Smith County High School66951
StaciBertholfWest Smith County High School66951


The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus. | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045