Skip redundant pieces
KU Home  :  KU News

KU News Release

More Information


University Relations

p (785) 864-3256
f (785) 864-3339
March 31, 2006
Contact: Kathy Rose-Mockry, Emily Taylor Women’s Resource Center, (785) 864-3552.

KU women’s resource center ceremony to honor outstanding women April 4

LAWRENCE — Outstanding women in the University of Kansas community will be recognized at the annual Women’s Recognition Program at 7:30 p.m. Tuesday, April 4, in the Big 12 Room of the Kansas Union.

The keynote speaker will be Saralyn Reece Hardy, director of KU’s Spencer Museum of Art.

Awards will be given to KU student, staff, faculty women and alumnae to recognize their outstanding contributions and achievements. The KU Commission on the Status of Women and the Emily Taylor Women’s Resource Center are sponsoring the program.

Three alumnae leaders will be inducted into the KU Women’s Hall of Fame, a tradition since 1970. The newest Hall of Fame inductees are:

  • Kay Barnes, first woman mayor of Kansas City, Mo., is a 1960 KU graduate in secondary education. Re-elected to a second term in 2003, she is recognized for a deep commitment to public service as well as providing strategic vision to revitalize downtown Kansas City. Her public service work includes founding the Women’s Resource Service at the University of Missouri-Kansas City and forming multicultural women’s speaking panels throughout the western United States. She co-founded the Central Exchange, Kansas City’s premier women’s organization that provides personal and professional development opportunities. In addition, she introduced ServiceFIRST, a program that examines the delivery of basic services to Kansas City residents and redesigns them for greater efficiency and effectiveness. She is co-author of About Time: A Woman’s Guide to Time Management. She also has a master’s degree from the University of Missouri-Kansas City.

  • Annette Shoemaker Rieger of Seattle, a 1967 KU graduate in sociology and social welfare, actively supports protective services for children and programs serving inner-city youth. She has taken a leadership role in fundraising for the Fred Hutchison Cancer Research Center in Seattle. She and her husband, Roger, established the Seattle chapter of the I Have a Dream Foundation, which provided college scholarships and other long-term educational support for 65 inner-city students who were in the sixth grade at the time. In addition, they have provided time and financial resources for a number of other programs supporting the Seattle School District and its students, including the Tudor Foundation. She co-founded the Gold Scholars program that focuses on life-long success and providing higher education opportunities for young African-American men. She received the 2004 Spirit Award from the national Urban League for her support of low-income, African-American students and their educational opportunities. At KU, the Riegers provided $3 million to construct and open KU’s newest scholarship hall named for her late brother-in-law Dennis E. Reiger. She is a University Lifetime Member of the Chancellor’s Club and she serves on the Women Philanthropists for KU Advisory Board. Originally from Kansas City, she also has a master’s degree in social work from the University of Denver.

  • Kathy Suprenant, KU professor and chair of the division of biological sciences, is recognized nationally for her research in cell replication (both normal and abnormal). Within the university, she provides leadership through her administration of grants totaling between $3 million and $5 million and the talents of more than 88 faculty and graduate students in the biological sciences division. She has received numerous grants for her own research, including projects funded by the National Science Foundation. On campus, her many leadership awards include Mortar Board Outstanding Educator, the Professional Opportunities for Women in Research and Engineering Award and an International Union Against Cancer Award. She is a faculty adviser for the Bioethics Club, on the search committee for senior vice provost for research, chair of the Committee on Graduate Studies and faculty adviser for the women’s rugby team.

Faculty and staff women receiving awards will be Linda Stone-Ferrier, professor and chair of history of art, Outstanding Woman Educator; and Hodgie Bricke, assistant dean of the Graduate School and International Programs and Diana Rhodes, secretary for Student Senate, each named Outstanding Staff Member.

Specific student awards are for outstanding women in athletics, community service, leadership, partnership and for outstanding women representing international and nontraditional students. The Sally Mason Award for Outstanding Woman in the Sciences will also be given. The student award winners, their hometowns, majors, parents’ names when available and their awards are:

From Lawrence
Lacy Jane Gilmour, third-year law student, is married to David Gilmour and is a graduate of Friends University in Wichita. She will receive the Outstanding Nontraditional Woman Student award.

Amanda Lea Tyrrell, doctoral student in special education, received a master’s degree from the University of Missouri-Columbia. She will receive the Outstanding Woman Student in Community Service award.

From Olathe
Hannah Kathleen Swift, senior majoring in astronomy, is the daughter of Thomas and Virginia Swift and is an Olathe South High School graduate. She will receive the Sally Mason Award for Outstanding Woman in the Sciences.

From Overland Park
Jomana Qaddour, senior majoring in human biology, is the daughter of Jihad and Rouyda Qaddour. She has degrees from Johnson County Community College and Barton County Community College and is an Olathe East High School graduate. She will receive the Outstanding Woman Student in Leadership award.

From Shawnee
Crystal Dimitria Kemp, senior in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, is the daughter of Janice Kemp and is a Topeka High School graduate. She will receive the Outstanding Woman Student in Athletics award.

From Independence
Emily Catherine Bannwarth, junior in marketing, is the daughter of David and Marlene Bannwarth and is graduate of Independence Community College and Independence Senior High School. She will receive the Outstanding Woman Student in Partnership award.

From La Paz
Erika Susana Olivia Marisal Del Villar, master’s degree student in social welfare, is the daughter of Daniel Dorado Subieta and of Carmen Marisca. She has a bachelor’s degree from Catholic University of Bolivia. She will receive the Outstanding International Woman Student award.


The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus. | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045