Skip redundant pieces
KU Home  :  KU News

KU News Release

More Information


University Relations

p (785) 864-3256
f (785) 864-3339
May 25, 2006
Contact: Mary Wallace, School of Journalism, (785) 864-4752.

KU School of Journalism honors 25 top students at year-end ceremonies

Go to county and state directory

LAWRENCE — The William Allen White School of Journalism and Mass Communications at the University of Kansas honored its top students during an April 26 ceremony. Dean Ann Brill presided at the event in Woodruff Auditorium in the Kansas Union.

Twenty-five undergraduate and graduate students were selected by journalism faculty for awards worth a total of $9,100 in writing, editing, reporting, broadcasting, strategic communications and media management. Students who received scholarships will be announced by KU Endowment in the fall.

Two new awards this year are the Sharon Bass Award for an outstanding magazine student and the Diane Lazzarino Award for an outstading strategic communications student. The awards are named for two journalism faculty members who are retiring this year. Bass joined the KU faculty in 1983 and was the longtime head of the school’s magazine program. Bass also served as the graduate director and acting associate dean. Lazzarino has been at KU for 37 years. She was the first director of the Bremner Writing Center and was a writing instructor whose student projects often benefited community agencies. She was adviser to the KU Ad Club for 20 years.

Himeezembi Kamatuka, Lawrence senior, received the Journalism School Service Award to recognize her service in representing students on the search committee that recruited three faculty members this year.

Other awards presented were:
— Mel Adams Strategic Communications Award, given for student leadership in strategic communications
— John Bremner Copy Editing Award for excellence in copy editing
— Walter Ewert News Reporting Award for outstanding reporting on the University Daily Kansan
— Gerald Funk Feature Writing Awards for outstanding magazine writing and outstanding newspaper writing
— John Katich Broadcast Award, given to an outstanding student in broadcast journalism
— Dana Leibengood Strategic Communications Award, given to an outstanding senior in public relations
— Bruce Linton Electronic Media Graduate Award, given to an outstanding graduate student who specializes in radio-television
— Paul V. Miner Award for Kansan Leadership to recognize outstanding contributions to the University Daily Kansan by news students
— Calder Pickett Graduate Student Award, given to an outstanding graduate student
— Don Pierce Sports Writing Award for outstanding sports writing on the University Daily Kansan
— Leslie D. Polk Editing Award recognizes excellence in print news
— Radio-Television Award to recognize excellence in broadcast journalism
— Angelo Scott News Reporting Awards are given for outstanding work on the University Daily Kansan
— Gene Slais Broadcast News Award, given to an outstanding senior in radio-television news
— Sullivan, Higdon & Sink Strategic Communications Senior Award, given to an outstanding senior in strategic communications
— Lee Young Magazine Senior Award, given to an outstanding senior magazine student

Student award winners are listed below by hometown, parents’ names, high school and award.


The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus. | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045