Skip redundant pieces
KU Home  :  KU News

KU News Release

More Information


University Relations

p (785) 864-3256
f (785) 864-3339
May 3, 2006
Contact: Robert C. “Robin” Rowland, Department of Communications Studies, (785) 864-9868.

Communication studies association honors KU faculty, students and alumni

LAWRENCE — Current and former faculty and students in the Department of Communication Studies at University of Kansas were honored at the 75th annual Central States Communication Association convention April 6-8 in Indianapolis, Ind.

Diana Carlin, professor of communication studies and dean of the Graduate School and International Programs, served as president and presided over conference activities. Three KU communication studies faculty are past presidents of the organization: Donn W. Parson, professor and director of the communications studies graduate program, and retired professors Wil Linkugel and Ellen Gold.

At this year’s convention, Bobby R. Patton, former KU professor and recently retired president of Central Missouri State University, was inducted into the association’s Hall of Fame by Carlin. He joins Linkugel, who was inducted into the first class of the Hall of Fame in 2004.

Paul Scrodt, assistant professor, received the Outstanding New Teacher Award, which is presented to a faculty member who completed doctoral studies in the past five years. Two previous recipients of this award were also KU faculty: Parson and Adrianne Kunkel, associate professor.

Robert Rowland, chair of communications studies, said, “The performance of faculty, students and alumni from communication studies at the Central State Communication Association convention continues a long tradition of excellence. We are also enormously proud of the work that Dean Diana Carlin has done as president of the organization, continuing the efforts of the three former presidents from our department, Wil Linkugel, Donn Parson and Ellen Gold.”

The Central States Communication Association represents all communication programs in the 13-state central region of the United States.

Three communications studies alumni were honored for their papers presented at the convention:

— C. B. Crawford, 1998 doctoral graduate, teaching at Fort Hays State University, for Organizational and Professional Communication paper.
— Mary F. Hoffman, spring 2000 doctoral graduate, teaching at Texas State University-San Marcos, for Organizational and Professional Communication paper.
— Jeffrey VanCleave, spring 2005 doctoral graduate, teaching at Southern Illinois University-Edwardsville, for Argumentation and Forensics paper.

KU communication studies students receiving awards were:

From Lawrence
Andrew M. Ledbetter, doctoral student, was honored for the Graduate Student Caucus. Ledbetter has a master’s degree from KU and a bachelor’s degree from Wheaton College in Illinois.

From Liberal
Jimmie Dewain Manning, doctoral student planning to graduate in summer 2006, son of Jim and Barbara Manning, won the top three paper award from the Women’s Caucus. Manning received a master’s degree from KU in fall 2004 and has bachelor’s degree from Emporia State University. He attended Seward County Community College and is a Liberal High School graduate.

From Omaha
Nichole Kathryn Kathol, doctoral student, daughter of Joanie and Kenney Fuchtman and of Martin Kathol, received the Women’s Caucus top paper award. She has a master’s degree from Miami University in Oxford, Ohio, and a bachelor’s degree from University of Nebraska-Omaha.

From Grand Forks
Daniel Kenneth Schill, doctoral student, son of Ken and Mary Schill, won the Political Communication Auer Award for top paper in the division. Schill received a master’s degree from KU in spring 2004 and has a bachelor’s degree from the University of North Dakota-Grand Forks.


The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus. | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045