Skip redundant pieces
KU Home  :  KU News

KU News Release

More Information


University Relations

p (785) 864-3256
f (785) 864-3339
May 30, 2006
Contact: Chris McKitterick, KU Center for the Study of Science Fiction, (785) 864-2509.

KU Center for the Study of Science Fiction announces finalists for annual awards

LAWRENCE — Finalists for the John W. Campbell Memorial Award and the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award were announced today by Chris McKitterick, associate director of the Center for the Study of Science Fiction at the University of Kansas. Both awards will be presented at a dinner on the Lawrence campus July 7 as part of the Campbell Conference, which takes place July 6-9.

The Campbell Award recognizes the best science fiction novel of the year as judged by a committee of authors and academics including Gregory Benford; Paul A. Carter; James Gunn, director of the KU Center for the Study of Science Fiction; Elizabeth Anne Hull; McKitterick; Farah Mendlesohn; Pamela Sargent; and T.A. Shippey. The Sturgeon Award recognizes the best short science fiction of the year. The judges include Gunn; Kij Johnson; Frederik Pohl; George Zebrowski; and Noel Sturgeon, Theodore Sturgeon’s daughter.

2005 John W. Campbell Memorial Award finalists: Transcendent by Stephen Baxter, The Meq by Steve Cash, Child of Earth by David Gerrold, Mind's Eye by Paul McAuley, Seeker by Jack McDevitt, Learning the World by Ken Macleod, The Summer Isles by Ian R. Macleod, Counting Heads by David Marusek, Mindscan by Robert J. Sawyer, Accelerando by Charles Stross, The World Before by Karen Traviss and Spin by Robert Charles Wilson.

2005 Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award finalists: “The Calorie Man” by Paolo Bacigalupi, “Second Person, Present Tense” by Darryl Gregory, “Magic for Beginners” by Kelly Link, “Keyboard Practice” by John G. McDaid, “The Little Goddess” by Ian McDonald, “Little Faces” by Vonda McIntyre, “The Blemmye's Stratagem” by Bruce Sterling, “Panacea” by Jason Stoddard, “The Inn at Mount Either” by James Van Pelt and “Inside Job” by Connie Willis.

For more information about the awards and selection process visit and

Information about the Campbell Conference is available online at


The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus. | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045