Skip redundant pieces
KU Home  :  KU News

KU News Release

More Information


University Relations

p (785) 864-3256
f (785) 864-3339
Feb. 8, 2008
Contact: Sue Lorenz, University Honors Program, (785) 864-3374.

KU to honor University Scholars at Feb. 9 menís basketball game

LAWRENCE — Twenty undergraduates at the University of Kansas named University Scholars for 2008 will be honored during the first timeout at the KU vs. Baylor men’s basketball game Saturday, Feb. 9, at Allen Fieldhouse.

The University Scholars Program provides academic experiences that challenge students intellectually and enhanced opportunities to second-year undergraduates. The scholars must maintain at least a 3.5 grade-point average to stay in the program and are eligible for $250 scholarships for up to five semesters while enrolled at KU.

In addition to being recognized on the basketball court, the 20 scholars and their faculty mentors will be honored during a 6 p.m. dinner Sunday, Feb. 10, at the Malott Room in the Kansas Union.

As part of the program, students enroll in an interdisciplinary seminar that allows them to integrate knowledge from fields of study outside their own. Each scholar works with a faculty mentor. That partnership is expected to continue until the student graduates.

This year’s seminar is titled “Law and Society: The Supreme Court’s Role in American Government and Culture.” Stephen R. McAllister, professor of law and former dean of the law school at KU, is teaching the seminar for this year’s scholars, the 27th class. McAllister was a KU undergraduate in 1982 when he became a member of the second class of University Scholars. The University Scholars will explore legal aspects of a variety of disciplines and professions, including media law; international law; law and religion; health law; racial justice; and law and politics. The seminar will feature speakers from many of these areas.

From March 15 to 19, the seminar will move to Washington, D. C., where students will visit the Supreme Court, the Capitol, the Department of Justice and, tentatively, the White House.

The 20 students chosen each fall semester come from a wide range of disciplines across the university. They are selected on the basis of their academic records, demonstration of commitment to their education, their intellectual promise and faculty evaluations.

Administered by the University Honors Program, the University Scholars Program was established in 1981 by Deanell Reece Tacha, then-vice chancellor for academic affairs, now Chief Judge of the U.S. Court of Appeals, 10th Circuit. The program identifies exceptional undergraduate students and encourages them on their path toward outstanding achievement. The program is supported financially by KU Endowment at the request of the provost. KU Endowment funding sources include the Greater KU Fund and the Francis H. Heller Fund for the University Honors Program. Heller is a professor emeritus of law and political science who served as the chair of the University Scholars Steering Committee from 1981 to 1988.  

University Scholars are listed below by hometown, major, parents’ names (when available), high school and faculty mentor.

From Lawrence 66046
Margaret Kelsey Yoe, sophomore in history and fine arts, daughter of Daniel and Janet Yoe; Karl Brooks, associate professor of history.

From Garden City 67846
Lara Elizabeth Pracht, junior in civil engineering, daughter of Willis and Connie Pracht; Garden City Senior High School; Bryan Young, associate professor of civil, environmental and architectural engineering.

From Spearville 67876
Stephanie Marie Temaat, junior in political science, daughter of Ronald and Beverly Temaat; Spearville High School; Mary Zimmerman, professor of sociology.

From Overland Park 66204
Samuel Walton Atherton, junior in history, son of Tracy and Cecilia Atherton; Shawnee Mission North High School; Allan Cigler, Chancellors Club Teaching Professor of Political Science.

From Overland Park 66215 and Leawood 66211
Christian Cameron Hinton, junior in architecture, son of David Hinton and Laura Miller; Shawnee Mission South High School; John Gaunt, dean of architecture and urban planning.

From Goff 66428
Ella Medora Fund-Reznicek, sophomore in linguistics, son of Edward Reznicek and Mary Fund; Wetmore High School; Marc Greenberg, chair and professor of Slavic languages and literatures.

From Manhattan 66502
David Lerner Wilcox, sophomore in biology and English, son of Dan and Beth Wilcox; Manhattan High School; Kathleen McCluskey-Fawcett, senior vice provost and professor of clinical child psychology.

From Manhattan 66503
Alan J. Schurle, junior in chemistry and English, son of Bryan and Brenda Schurle; Manhattan High School; Robert Dunn, professor of analytical chemistry.

From Salina 67401
Luis Alfredo Lopez, junior in biology, son of Alfredo Lopez and Claudia Perez-Tamayo; Salina High School Central; James Orr, professor of biological sciences.

From Wichita 67212
Katherine Jo Oberthaler, sophomore in English and psychology, daughter of Peter and Diane Oberthaler; Maize High School; Patricia Hawley, assistant professor of social psychology.

From Wichita 67220
Carnez D. Williams, sophomore in journalism and international studies, son of Kevass and Teketa Harding; Northeast Magnet School; M.A. “Mike” Kautsch, professor of law.

From Topeka 66604
Emily Rose Sheldon, junior in accounting, daughter of Roy and Mary Sheldon; Topeka High School; John “Jack” Bricke, professor of philosophy.

From Topeka 66614
Stephen Sai Folmsbee, junior in neurobiology, son of Mark and Nobuko Folmsbee; Topeka High School; Truman Christopher Gamblin, assistant professor of biological sciences.

Emily Christine Hane, sophomore in creative writing and political science, daughter of Charles and Vickie Hane; Topeka West High School; Richard Eversole, associate professor of English.

From Ogallah 67656
Callie Schlegel, sophomore in voice, daughter of Elmer and Myrna Schlegel; Joyce Castle, professor of voice.

From WaKeeney 67672
Nathan John Locke, junior in human biology, son of Marlin and Deb Locke; Trego Community High School; Susan Egan, associate professor of biological sciences.

From Carlinville 62626
Cassandra Delores LaMar, junior in biology, daughter of Edward and Cynthia LaMar; Carlinville High School; William Picking, professor of biological sciences.

From Gurnee 60031
Nora Foley Burt, junior in dance and Spanish, daughter of Wendell and Patricia Burt; Carmel High School, Mundelein, Ill.; David Gottlieb, professor of law.

From Sandy 84093
Vanessa A. Copple, sophomore in classical antiquity and art history, daughter of Kennis Wessel and Susan Copple; West High School, Salt Lake City; John G. Younger, professor of classics.

From Skopje
Sandra Ristovska, junior in theatre and film, daughter of Trajce and Snezana Ristovski; Nova International School/Orce Nikolav Gymnasia; Catherine Preston, associate professor of theatre and film.


The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus. | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045