Skip redundant pieces
KU Home  :  KU News

KU News Release

More Information


University Relations

p (785) 864-3256
f (785) 864-3339
Oct. 30, 2008
Contact: Gail Sherron, Admissions and Scholarships, (785) 864-5418.

KU to honor more than 680 top scholars on football field Nov. 15

Go to county and state directory

LAWRENCE – On Saturday, Nov. 15, the University of Kansas will honor recipients of its most prestigious scholarships during halftime of the KU v Texas game in Memorial Stadium.

More than 680 undergraduates are recipients of one of six top scholarships offered at KU: National Merit, National Achievement, National Hispanic, Perfect Achievement, Summerfield and the Watkins-Berger.

This year’s scholars represent the largest group since 1999 when KU Chancellor Robert Hemenway initiated Scholars Day on the Field. About 650 are Kansans or are Kansas high school graduates. They represent 58 Kansas counties and 19 other states and countries.

Hemenway has invited the scholars and their parents to attend the Scholars Day on the Field recognition program. The students and their parents receive complimentary tickets. In addition, the scholars and their parents meet with the chancellor and other university officials during a pre-game buffet at the Kansas Union. The chancellor will join the scholars on the field at halftime.

“Taking our most outstanding student scholars out on the football field at halftime is one of my favorite events of the year. It allows KU to introduce our most talented students to a broad audience and it gives our top scholars an opportunity to be recognized for their accomplishments in a unique setting,” Hemenway said.

KU currently enrolls:
- 205 National Merits scholars
- 20 National Hispanic scholars
- 9 National Achievement scholars
- 4 Perfect Achievement scholars
- 220 Watkins-Berger scholars
- 228 Summerfield scholars.

The National Merit scholarship is widely regarded as the most prestigious national award bestowed upon high school seniors. Fewer than 10,000 students of the 1.2 million who compete for the award, or less than 1 percent, receive National Merit scholarships. Recipients are chosen based on their academic abilities and records and extracurricular activities.

The National Hispanic scholars and National Achievement scholars programs are the nation’s most prestigious competitive scholarships for minority students. National Achievement scholarships are provided through the National Merit Scholarship Corp. in Evanston, Ill. National Hispanic scholarships are coordinated through the National Hispanic Recognition Program, through the College Board offices in New York City.

Solon E. Summerfield scholarships for men and the Elizabeth M. Watkins-Emily Berger scholarships for women are awarded to top students graduating from Kansas high schools in recognition of outstanding academic achievements, community service and leadership. Summerfield scholarships are funded through an endowment established in 1929. Watkins- Berger scholarships were first established in 1943.

KU established the Perfect Achievement Scholarship in 2004 for Kansas high school graduates who have achieved perfect scores on college entrance exams. The scholarship was first offered in 2005. The renewable scholarship provides full tuition for up to four years and housing in a traditional residence hall with a full meal package and an allowance for books. To be eligible Kansas high school graduates must achieve the top score of 36 on the ACT or of 1,600 on the SAT and must choose KU right after high school graduation and remain enrolled at KU.

The scholars are listed online by their hometown, their name, their level in school, major, parents’ names and high schools, when available, and by their scholarship.


The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus. | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045