Skip redundant pieces
KU Home  :  KU News

KU News Release

More Information


University Relations

p (785) 864-3256
f (785) 864-3339
April 15, 2009
Contact: Tiffany Edmonds, School of Education, (785) 864-9979.

School of Education honors 855 Kansas teachers for long-term service

Go to county and state directory

LAWRENCE — The School of Education at the University of Kansas is honoring 855 Kansas teachers from 156 school districts statewide with certificates recognizing 25 or more years of service to education, mostly in Kansas schools.

“Education is once again at the forefront of everyone’s thinking given the emphasis that the new administration in Washington is putting on strengthening our nation’s schools,” said Rick Ginsberg, dean of the School of Education. “The heart of any successful reforms will involve great teachers, and we in Kansas are lucky to have some of the best teachers in the nation. We are pleased to be able to honor those who have dedicated their life’s work to serving the students of Kansas.”

Six teachers have 40 or more years of service:

— Tony Tabares of Chanute, secondary teacher at USD 257 Iola, has taught 43 years.
— June Gerber, school psychologist, and Eldon Younce, elementary and secondary teacher, both of Anthony and both in USD 361 Anthony-Harper, each have taught for 41 years.
— Anne K. Nettleton of Salina, elementary teacher at USD 305 Salina; Ray Everhart of Gypsum, elementary and middle school counselor at USD 306 Southeast of Saline; and Phyllis Lopez of Topeka, elementary teacher at USD 501 Topeka Public Schools, each has taught 40 years.

More than 20 are being recognized for more than 36 years service in education:

— Kathleen Quakenbush of Salina, elementary principal in USD 305 Salina, 39 years.
— Russell Thiel of Andover, secondary teacher at USD 385 Andover, 38 years
— Dale Adams of Harper and Lane Buck of Anthony, both secondary teachers at USD 361 Anthony-Harper, 38 years each
— Larry Bennett of Talala, Okla., secondary teacher, and Linda Lawson of Humboldt, middle-school teacher, both at USD 445 Coffeyville, 38 years each
— Cindy Alley of Wetmore, elementary-middle-secondary librarian at USD 380 Vermillion, 38 years
— Diane Gowdy of Colony, secondary teacher at USD 257 Iola, and Marilyn Homan of Topeka, secondary counselor with USD 501 Topeka Public Schools, 37 years each.
— Linda Zink and Shirley Zirkle, both of Harper and both elementary-middle teachers with USD 361 Anthony-Harper, 36 years each
— Mike Chamberland of Sedan, secondary social science teacher at USD 286 Chautauqua County Community, 36 years
—Virginia Crane of Chanute, secondary teacher with USD 257 Iola, 36 years
— Mary Ann Kibbe of Randall, elementary teacher at USD 279 Jewell, 36 years
— Brenda Eckert of Hugoton, middle-school teacher at USD 480 Liberal, 36 years
— Rebecca S. Polzella of Abilene, elementary teacher, and Gary White, assistant secondary principal, both in USD 305 Salina, 36 years each
— Rex Cooper of Salina, secondary teacher at USD 306 Southeast of Saline, 36 years
— Linda M. Kotich of Topeka, secondary curriculum coordinator at USD 501 Topeka Public Schools, 36 years
— Patsy L. Love of Ulysses, secondary teacher at USD 214 Ulysses, 36 years
— Pat Massie of Vermillion, elementary teacher at USD 380 Vermilion, 36 years

Ten more have completed 35 years of service in education:

— Doris Santee of Anthony, secondary teacher at USD 361 Anthony-Harper.
— Shari Weeks of Burlingame, elementary teacher at USD 437 Auburn Washburn.
— Cathy Axline, middle-school teacher, and Diana Moore, secondary teacher, both of Medicine Lodge and in USD 254 Barber County North.
— Randy Walling of Washington, elementary-middle-secondary teacher at USD 223 Barnes-Hanover-Linn.
— Ann Taylor of Baxter Springs, secondary counselor at USD 508 Baxter Springs.
— Kathy Easley of Chetopa, elementary teacher at USD 493 Columbus.
— Fred Weaver of Falls City, Neb., who teaches at USD 415 Hiawatha.
— Sharon R. Grubb of Salina, secondary teacher at USD 305 Salina.
— Joyce Wardell of Topeka, elementary teacher/paraeducator at USD 501 Topeka Public Schools.

KU’s School of Education annually invites Kansas school district officials to identify educators who are eligible for recognition. Certificates are issued based on responses from individual districts; some school districts do not participate in KU’s recognition program.

Honored educators represent districts in 79 of the 105 Kansas counties: Allen, Atchison, Barber, Barton, Bourbon, Brown, Butler, Chautauqua, Cherokee, Cheyenne, Clark, Clay, Cloud, Coffey, Cowley, Crawford, Dickinson, Doniphan, Douglas, Elk, Ellis, Ellsworth, Ford, Franklin, Grant, Gray, Greenwood, Harper, Harvey, Haskell, Hodgeman, Jackson, Jefferson, Jewell, Johnson, Kearny, Kingman, Kiowa, Labette, Leavenworth, Linn, Lyon, Marion, Marshall, McPherson, Meade, Miami, Mitchell, Montgomery, Morris, Nemaha, Norton, Osage, Osborne, Ottawa, Pawnee, Phillips, Pottawatomie, Pratt, Reno, Republic, Rice, Riley, Rooks, Saline, Sedgwick, Seward, Shawnee, Sheridan, Sherman, Stafford, Sumner, Thomas, Trego, Wabaunsee, Washington, Wilson, Woodson and Wyandotte.

Teachers who received certificates are listed below by name in order of USD or Interlocal number, district county, district name, total years of service and years of service in Kansas and, if available, home city, position and area of teaching or administration, all as provided by their school districts.


The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus. | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045