Skip redundant pieces
KU Home  :  KU News

KU News Release

More Information


University Relations

p (785) 864-3256
f (785) 864-3339
April 20, 2009
Contact: Kathy Rose-Mockry, Emily Taylor Women's Resource Center, (785) 864-3552.

KU to induct Gov. Kathleen Sebelius into Women’s Hall of Fame on April 21

LAWRENCE — Kansas Gov. Kathleen Sebelius will be among five women inducted into the Women’s Hall of Fame at the University of Kansas on Tuesday, April 21. The governor is not scheduled to attend the ceremonies.

The induction ceremony is part of the annual Women’s Recognition Program honoring outstanding women in the KU community. The 2009 program begins at 7:30 p.m. at the Kansas Room in the Kansas Union. A reception will follow the program to congratulate recipients and celebrate their accomplishments.

Jacqueline Snyder, chancellor of Metropolitan Community College in Kansas City, Mo., and three KU professors — Maria Carlson in the Department of Slavic Languages and Literatures, Bozenna Pasik-Duncan in the Department of Mathematics and Joey Sprague in the Department of Sociology — will be inducted into the Hall of Fame with Sebelius.

Sebelius and Snyder both earned degrees at KU. Sebelius received a master’s in public administration in 1980, and Snyder earned a doctorate in higher education administration in 1988.

Sebelius is President Barack Obama’s nominee for U.S. Secretary of Health and Human Services. In 2005, during her first term as governor, Sebelius received the Pioneer Woman award from KU’s Women’s Recognition Program. That same year, Time magazine named her one of the nation’s top five governors. In 2006, she was re-elected to governor.

Snyder became the fifth chancellor of Metropolitan Community College in 2005. In 2002, she was elected president of the Presidents and Chancellors Association of the Missouri Community College Association. She began teaching in the Shawnee Mission School District before going into administration at Johnson County Community College. In 1995, she moved to Metropolitan Community College as vice chancellor of economic and resource development and was named president in 1998. She has a bachelor’s degree in education from Kansas State University.

KU has inducted outstanding leaders into its Women’s Hall of Fame since 1970. This year, the Women’s Hall of Fame site, on the fifth floor of the Kansas Union, will be dedicated. Kala Stroup, former KU dean of women, directed this project.

The 2009 Pioneer Woman award will honor the community and educational services of the late Dorothy Hodge Johnson of Kansas City, Kan. Before her death in 2004, she had served as a research associate for the Greater Kansas City Mental Health Foundation and as a adjunct assistant professor at the University of Missouri at Kansas City’s School of Medicine. She earned membership in Phi Beta Kappa honor society and a journalism degree from KU in 1937 and a KU master’s of social work in 1960. Early in her career she reported for the Kansas City Call and worked as a community liaison for the National Urban League. She served on numerous civic boards and in 1953 became director of the Florence Crittenton Home for Negro Girls. After receiving her master’s degree, she directed the Jackson County, Mo., Department of Health and Welfare. She received a KU Distinguished Service Citation in 1974.

In all, 17 KU women representing students, staff, faculty and alumnae will be honored for their outstanding contributions and achievements. Eight women students will receive awards for their contributions in athletics, community service, the international community, leadership and science and recognition of their partnerships and achievements as single mothers. In addition, a number of women will be recognized for outstanding contributions to on-campus housing and sororities.

Mary Ryan, associate dean of academic affairs at the Edwards Campus, will receive the Outstanding Woman Staff Member award. Two faculty members will be named Outstanding Woman Educators: Kelley Massoni, sociology lecturer, and Leslie Tuttle, assistant professor of history.

Mary Klayder, University Honors Lecturer in English, will receive the Kathleen McCluskey-Fawcett Women Mentoring Women award.

The program is sponsored by the Commission on the Status of Women, a student organization on campus since the 1960s, and the Emily Taylor Women’s Resource Center, a program of the Student Involvement and Leadership Center.

Students receiving awards are listed below by hometown, level in school, major, parents’ or spouse’s names, high school or their previous degrees received and award.

From Fort Scott 66701
Erin Lewis, senior in mechanical engineering, daughter of David Lewis; Fort Scott High School; Outstanding Woman Student in Leadership.

From Lawrence 66044
Molly S. Sailors, junior in social work, daughter of Paula Kellogg and Gordon Saliors; Perry-Lecompton High School; Outstanding Woman Student in Community Service.

Jodi Gentry, doctoral student in environmental engineering; bachelor’s degree from Kansas State University, 2004; Outstanding Woman Student in Partnership.

From Lawrence 66046
Shylo Ann Bundy, senior in English and political science; Lawrence High School; Ethel Bohning Single Mother Award.

From Olathe 66062
Melissa Halder, senior in human biology, daughter of Craig and Teresa Halder; Olathe South High School; Ethel Bohning Single Mother Award.

From Shawnee 66217
Stephanie Hill, senior in chemistry and biochemistry, daughter of Douglas and Mary Hill; Shawnee Mission Northwest High School; Sally Mason Outstanding Woman Student in Science.

From Sumner 98390
Hannah E. McMacken, senior in elementary education and master’s student in education, daughter of Eileen Riordan; Outstanding Woman Student in Athletics.

From Lagos
Mary Orieji Mba, doctoral student in French literature; master's degree from Kansas State University, 2007; bachelor's from Abia State University in Nigeria, 1998; Outstanding International Woman Student.


The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus. | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045