KU News Release

Dec. 11, 2009
Contact: Evan Franseen, Kansas Geological Survey, (785) 864-2072

Kansas Geological Survey geologist elected to national group's council

More Information

LAWRENCE — A senior scientist at the Kansas Geological Survey, based at the University of Kansas, has been elected to the governing council of the Society of Sedimentary Geology.

Evan Franseen, head of the Kansas Geological Survey’s Stratigraphic Research Section and KU professor of geology, will serve a two-year term as the society’s councilor for sedimentology. The council oversees the society, which disseminates scientific information in such research areas as sedimentology, stratigraphy, paleontology, environmental sciences and marine geology.

Franseen’s research focuses on the ways rocks are deposited and the way those deposits change over time. The goal is an improved understanding of the geologic processes that led to the formation of oil- and gas-bearing rocks. He has investigated deposits ranging from those as old as 500 million years to as recent as 2 million years.

Franseen has been at the Kansas Geological Survey since 1989. He is author or coauthor of more than 100 scientific publications, including several books on sedimentary modeling and sequence stratigraphy. He is associate editor of the journal Palaios, has served on the editorial board for the journal Geology and was vice chair for the Sedimentary Geology Division of the Geological Society of America.

The Society of Sedimentary Geology is one of the oldest and most-established international societies in the field and has approximately 3,500 members worldwide.

The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus.

kunews@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045

KU Today

Subscribe to our daily newsletter covering research, academics, media coverage, campus news, events & more. Subscribe




The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).