Skip redundant pieces
KU Home  :  KU News

KU News Release

More Information


University Relations

p (785) 864-3256
f (785) 864-3339
March 3, 2009
Contact: Emily Huckabay, Office for Diversity in Science Training, (785) 864-7316.

KU announces 2009 Kansas IDeA Network scholarship recipients

LAWRENCE — Eight students at the University of Kansas have received 2009 undergraduate research scholarships through the Kansas IDeA (Institutional Development Awards) Network of Biomedical Research Excellence program.

The undergraduate scholarship program at the Lawrence campus is funded through $25.6 million National Institute of Health grant to the Kansas IDeA Network of Biomedical Research Excellence. Joan Hunt, vice chancellor for biomedical research infrastructure at the KU Medical Center and University Distinguished Professor of Anatomy and Cell Biology, is principal investigator.

The Lawrence campus is one of 10 participating campuses that receive support. James A. Orr, professor of molecular biosciences, serves as the Lawrence campus coordinator for the program.

The scholarships encourage students to pursue careers in science and, ultimately, promote biomedical research in Kansas. The spring 2009 the scholarships provide up to $2,000. Scholarships are awarded based on merit and as well as the quality of an applicant’s research proposal. Scholars are selected by a multidisciplinary committee made up of faculty members from molecular biosciences and chemistry.

Scholars present their research results at the annual Summer Undergraduate Research Symposium on campus and at the Kansas IDeA Network of Biomedical Research Excellence statewide symposium in January.

Typically, the Kansas IDeA Network of Biomedical Research Excellence has provided spring and summer funding for six to 10 undergraduate scholars a year. This year, 22 students applied and eight received the scholarships.

The Kansas IDeA Network of Biomedical Research Excellence program was funded in 2001. The first scholarships were issued to KU undergraduates in summer 2002. Since then, the program has provided support to 65 KU students.

The participating network partners are Emporia State University, Fort Hays State University, Haskell Indian Nations University, Kansas State University, KU’s Lawrence campus, KU Medical Center, Pittsburg State University, Washburn University, Wichita State University and Langston (Okla.) University.

The 2009 undergraduate research scholarship recipients are listed below by hometown, level in school, major(s), parents’ names, high school (when available) and faculty mentor.

From Great Bend 67530
Justin Tyler Moyers, senior in chemistry, son of Randy and Lorrie Moyers; Great Bend High School; Brian Blagg, assistant professor of medicinal chemistry

From Lawrence 66044
Robert Reifort Wiggin, senior in biochemistry; Shawnee Mission West High School; Audrey Lamb, assistant professor of molecular biosciences

From Ulysses 67880 and Liberal
Katelyn N. Deckert, senior in biochemistry, daughter of Jerry Deckert of Ulysses and Ronald Deckert of Liberal; Liberal High School; Yoshiaki Azuma, assistant professor molecular biosciences

From Olathe 66061
Benjamin James Kurth, senior in biology, son of Paul and Luanne Kurth; Olathe Northwest High School; Michael A. Johnson, assistant professor of chemistry

From Overland Park 66213
Brandon J. Dekosky, senior in chemical engineering, son of Deborah Dekosky; Blue Valley Northwest High School; Michael Detamore, assistant professor chemical engineering

From Lindsborg 67456
Chantz Palmer Thomas, junior in history and microbiology, son of Greg and Lorye Thomas; Smoky Valley High School; Stephen Benedict, associate professor of molecular biosciences

From Goddard 67052
Emilie Ruthanne Mainz, junior in biochemistry, daughter of Eric and Barbara Mainz; Andale High School; Susan Lunte, the Ralph N. Adams Distinguished Professor of Chemistry and Pharmacuetical Chemistry

From Wichita 67230
Jason Thomas Stevens, junior in biology, son of Laurie and James Stevens; Andover Central High School; Lisa Timmons, assistant professor of molecular biosciences

From Liberal 67901 and Ulysses
Katelyn N. Deckert. SEE GRANT COUNTY


The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus. | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045