Skip redundant pieces
KU Home  :  KU News

KU News Release

More Information


University Relations

p (785) 864-3256
f (785) 864-3339
May 13, 2009
Contact: Kevin Boatright, Office of Research and Graduate Studies, (785) 864-7240.

Two students win Argersinger Prizes for outstanding dissertations

LAWRENCE — Two doctoral degree candidates at the University of Kansas, Catherine Siengsukon and Cathy Collins, each have received a $1,250 Marnie and Bill Argersinger Prize in recognition of their outstanding dissertations.

The prizes will be presented at 4 p.m. Saturday, May 16, during KU’s annual doctoral hooding ceremony at the Lied Center.

Siengsukon (pronounced see-YEN-sue-KON) of Roeland Park won the award for her dissertation “Sleep to Learn After Stroke: The Role of Sleep and Instruction in Off-Line Motor Learning.” She received her doctoral degree in rehabilitation science in spring 2008.

Collins, from Lawrence and Aurora, Colo., won for her dissertation “Population and Community Responses to Anthropogenic Environmental Change.” She will receive her doctoral degree in ecology and evolutionary biology on Sunday, May 17.

Both Siengsukon and Collins defended their dissertations with honors, a requirement for the award. Doctoral candidates who defended their dissertation by March 31 and completed requirements for the degree for graduation in spring, summer or fall 2008 or spring 2009 were eligible for the prize. The Office of Research and Graduate Studies selected the winners.

Siengsukon is a research assistant professor in the Department of Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation Science at the KU Medical Center. Her dissertation adviser was Lara Boyd, now with the University of British Columbia. Siengsukon received a bachelor’s in biology and master’s in physical therapy at Rockhurst University in Kansas City, Mo.

Collins is a postdoctoral researcher at Washington University in St. Louis. Her dissertation adviser was Bryan Foster, associate professor of ecology and evolutionary biology. Collins received a bachelor’s in biology from Pitzer College in Claremont, Calif., and a master’s in ecology and evolutionary biology from the University of Arizona in Tucson.

The Argersinger Prize was established through KU Endowment in 1992 and is named in honor of William J. Argersinger and his wife. He was KU’s first vice chancellor for research and graduate studies and dean of the graduate school.

KU Endowment is the independent, nonprofit organization serving as the official fundraising and fund-management foundation for KU. Founded in 1891, KU Endowment is the first foundation of its kind at a U.S. public university.


The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus. | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045