KU News Release

Sept. 29, 2009
Contact: Jennifer Jackson Sanner, KU Alumni Association, (785) 864-4760

KU to honor 54 high school seniors from Chautauqua, Cowley counties Oct. 14

More Information

LAWRENCE — Students from seven Kansas high schools will be honored Wednesday, Oct. 14, by the University of Kansas Alumni Association and KU Endowment.

A total of 54 seniors from high schools in Chautauqua and Cowley counties will be recognized for their academic achievements and named Kansas Honor Scholars at a 6:30 p.m. dinner program at Cowley County Community College’s Brown Center, 125 S. Second St., in Arkansas City.

The Kansas Honors Program began in 1971 and has honored more than 107,000 students. Scholars rank in the top 10 percent of their high school senior classes and are selected regardless of occupational plans or higher-education goals. Honorees are listed below.

During the ceremony, each student will receive an American Heritage Dictionary, in both hardback and electronic versions, presented by Danny Lewis, assistant director of alumni programs for the KU Alumni Association.

Paul Buskirk, associate athletics director for KU, will speak to the students and their parents and guests.

Honored students will be guests of the KU Alumni Association and KU Endowment; parents and area alumni are welcome to attend at a cost of $15 each.

Community volunteers collect reservations, coordinate details and serve as local contacts for the event. Lucy Herlocker Freeman, Winfield, will be the site coordinator as well as county coordinator for Cowley County. Tim Hills, Sedan, is Chautauqua County coordinator.

The Kansas Honors Program is made possible through the KU Endowment and proceeds from the Jayhawk License Plate program.

Arkansas City High SchoolMikaylaBeauchamp67005
Arkansas City High SchoolJoseBedolla67005
Arkansas City High SchoolDrewBennett67005
Arkansas City High SchoolBrianBiggerstaff67005
Arkansas City High SchoolAmandaBilyeu67005
Arkansas City High SchoolLupitaCaballero67005
Arkansas City High SchoolEthanEllis67005
Arkansas City High SchoolGabrielleEspinosa67005
Arkansas City High SchoolDevinMetzinger67005
Arkansas City High SchoolHarleeMusselman67005
Arkansas City High SchoolCourtneyOakley67005
Arkansas City High SchoolAustinPike67005
Arkansas City High SchoolKatyRicherson67005
Arkansas City High SchoolCarrieRickords-Mars67005
Arkansas City High SchoolLaneRussell67005
Arkansas City High SchoolRosemarySimmons67005
Arkansas City High SchoolAndreaSweetwood67005
Arkansas City High SchoolMollyWarren67005
Cedar Vale High SchoolJuliaArentz67024
Cedar Vale High SchoolErinChamplin67024
Cedar Vale High SchoolWarburtonMacy67024
Cedar Vale High SchoolSarahMassey67024
Central High SchoolBrentCalhoun67019
Central High SchoolJandiHandlin67019
Central High SchoolDanielWheeler67019
Dexter High SchoolAmberDefore67038
Dexter High SchoolLauraFanning67038
Dexter High SchoolTylerMarker67038
Sedan High SchoolSarahBuck67361
Sedan High SchoolKristiLoftin67361
Sedan High SchoolJoleneReed67361
Udall High SchoolCourtneyAdams67146
Udall High SchoolDylanSmith67146
Udall High SchoolMorganWilson67146
Winfield High SchoolMelissaArchambeau67156
Winfield High SchoolEthanBrennan67156
Winfield High SchoolKaitlynBuffum67156
Winfield High SchoolSommerCamp67156
Winfield High SchoolAbbieCarver67156
Winfield High SchoolJoshuaCaudill67156
Winfield High SchoolJacobCullum67156
Winfield High SchoolMarinaDouangphachanh67156
Winfield High SchoolEstherFinney67156
Winfield High SchoolAllisonHoman67156
Winfield High SchoolHannahLangley67156
Winfield High SchoolAdamLawrence67156
Winfield High SchoolMeganLounds67156
Winfield High SchoolJacobMarney67156
Winfield High SchoolHannahNiederee67156
Winfield High SchoolDaelorOsen67156
Winfield High SchoolJillianRyan67156
Winfield High SchoolHeatherSmith67156
Winfield High SchoolTaylorSnider67156
Winfield High SchoolRobertWeinert67156

The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus.

kunews@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045

KU Today

Subscribe to our daily newsletter covering research, academics, media coverage, campus news, events & more. Subscribe




The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).