KU News Release

Jan. 28, 2010
Contact: Jill Jess, University Relations, (785) 864-8858

KU names search committee for dean of law

More Information

LAWRENCE — University of Kansas Interim Provost Danny Anderson today announced a search committee to find a new dean for the School of Law.

Stephen W. Mazza, associate dean for academic affairs at the law school, will be interim dean effective July 1 when Gail Agrawal becomes dean of the College of Law at the University of Iowa.

The committee will conduct a nationwide search. Chris Drahozal, the John M. Rounds Distinguished Professor of Law and associate dean for research and faculty development, will chair the committee.

Other members are Mike Kautsch, professor of law; Laura Hines, professor of law; Elizabeth Weeks Leonard, associate professor law; Jelani Jefferson Exum, associate professor of law; Pam Keller, clinical associate professor of law; Todd Rogers, assistant dean for career services; John Gaunt, dean of the School of Architecture, Design and Planning; Mary Lee Hummert, vice provost for faculty development; Derrick Darby, associate professor of philosophy; Ganesh Nair, a first-year law student from Alexandria, Va.; and William Sampson, a 1971 graduate of the KU School of Law and partner in Shook, Hardy & Bacon.

The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus.

kunews@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045

KU Today

Subscribe to our daily newsletter covering research, academics, media coverage, campus news, events & more. Subscribe




The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).