KU News Release

July 9, 2010
Contact: Mike Krings, University Relations, (785) 864-8860

Professor to lead national society dedicated to natural drug origins

LAWRENCE — Barbara Timmermann, University Distinguished Professor and chair of the Department of Medicinal Chemistry at the University of Kansas, has been elected vice president of the American Society of Pharmacognosy.

Her duties will begin with her installation at the society’s annual meeting, which starts July 10 in Tampa, Fla. She will become president at the 2011 annual meeting in San Diego. Timmermann will be only the second female president since the foundation of the society in 1959.

The purpose of the American Society of Pharmacognosy is to promote the development of pharmacognosy, a branch of pharmacology that deals with drugs in their natural states and with medicinal herbs or other plants; to provide opportunity for association among the researchers in the science and in related sciences; to provide opportunities for presentation of research achievements; and to promote the publication of meritorious research.

The society is international in scope and brings together men and women dedicated to the promotion, growth and development not only of pharmacognosy but all aspects of those sciences related to and dealing in natural products. The society has more than 1,100 members.

At KU, Timmermann leads the new Native Medicinal Plant Research Program, which will look into the potential of native plants from Kansas and the region as botanical remedies, dietary supplements, cosmetic products and pharmaceutical or veterinary agents. The five-year, $5 million project is funded by the Kansas Bioscience Authority.

The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus.

kunews@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045

KU Today

Subscribe to our daily newsletter covering research, academics, media coverage, campus news, events & more. Subscribe




The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).