KU News Release

June 10, 2010
Contact: Jennifer Jackson Sanner, KU Alumni Association, (785) 864-4760

KU Alumni Association national board of directors elects new leaders

More Information

LAWRENCE — The University of Kansas Alumni Association’s national board of directors has elected new leadership and members.

Jay Howard, of Austin, Texas, was elected national chair for 2010-11 at the May 21 board meeting. A Salina native, Howard earned a business degree from KU in 1979 and a law degree from the University of Texas-Austin in 1982. Howard is president of JDH Investments and has served on the alumni association’s board since 2003.

Jeff Briley, of Overland Park, became national chair-elect. Briley earned an education degree in 1974 and now is an executive at CBIZ Wealth Management. He has volunteered for many years on the alumni association’s Kansas City chapter board, and he was elected to the national board in 2005.

Four new directors were elected to succeed alumni retiring from the board.

Paul Carttar, Lawrence, who earned a bachelor’s degree in economics and English from KU in 1976 and a master’s in business administration from Stanford University in 1983. He works for President Obama’s administration as director of the Social Innovation Fund, a $50 million fund housed in the Corporation for National and Community Service.

Scott Seyfarth, of Hinsdale, Ill., graduated from KU in 1983 with a bachelor’s in business administration and accounting. He is managing partner for Seyfco.

Brenda Marzett Vann, of Kansas City, Kan., received a bachelor’s in speech pathology in 1971 and a master’s in speech pathology in 1972. She is the special education program coordinator for the University of Missouri-Kansas City. Vann was a 2009 recipient of the alumni association’s Mildred Clodfelter Alumni Award, which recognizes “sustained volunteer service to the university at the local level.”

Jeff Wolfe, of Meridian, Idaho, graduated from KU in 1983 with a bachelor’s in geology. He is the president and CEO of CarPark, U.S.A.

Sue Shields Watson, of Wichita, ended her one-year term as chair and remains on the board as immediate past chair. She became a board member in 2004. Directors Grant Larkin, Garden City; Melissa Rodgers Padgett, Lawrence; and Walter Riker, Aurora, Ill., retired from the board after five years of service. Immediate Past Chair Tedde Tasheff, New York, N.Y., retired after seven years of service.

The board of directors meets three times annually in Lawrence. The association invites nominations for new directors through March 1 each year. In April, the association’s nominating committee reviews nominations and submits a slate to the entire board for consideration at the May meeting.

Founded in 1883, the KU Alumni Association is a nonprofit organization that exists to strengthen the university by informing, engaging and mobilizing the KU community. The association has more than 45,000 members.

The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus.

kunews@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045

KU Today

Subscribe to our daily newsletter covering research, academics, media coverage, campus news, events & more. Subscribe




The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).