KU News Release

June 15, 2010
Contact: James M. Mayo, School of Architecture, Design and Planning, (785) 864-4184

Graduate student wins Eisenhower Transportation Fellowship

LAWRENCE — A graduate student at the University of Kansas has received one of 56 prestigious Dwight David Eisenhower Transportation Fellowships awarded nationally by the U.S. Department of Transportation.

Ariel Laura Heckler, who is pursuing a master’s in urban planning in KU’s School of Architecture, Design and Planning, received a $5,000 fellowship for one year. She will use her fellowship to conduct transportation research and attend the annual meeting of the Transportation Research Board in January in Washington, D.C.

Heckler’s research focuses on how transportation professionals can improve their outreach and communication with the public, particularly in regards to the costs and real value of transportation systems and infrastructure.

In her proposal, Heckler explained, “People, throughout the world, travel from point A to point B everyday via one or multiple modes and for various reasons. Even though transportation is vital to our daily lives, most people seem to take it for granted.”

“In a time of tight state budgets and an emphasis on the most effective use of taxpayer dollars, Ariel’s research is especially meaningful and important so that citizens and elected officials have the information they need to prioritize projects and make tough decisions,” said Bonnie J. Johnson, assistant professor of urban planning and Heckler’s research adviser. “This is what good planning is all about. We are very pleased Ariel has this opportunity to further her studies and conduct her research.”

Heckler also is employed as project coordinator at KU’s Transportation Research Institute.

“I knew Ariel was an exceptional person the first day I met her,” said Bob Honea, director of the Transportation Research Institute. “She has continually revealed talents I didn’t even know to ask about when we interviewed her for the KU TRI administrative position. I am certain she will be an academic star in whatever field of research she chooses.”

Heckler earned a bachelor’s in 2000 from Wichita State University. She and her husband, Heng Tran, reside in Lawrence. She is the daughter of Robert and Alma Heckler of Lecompton and a Newton High School graduate. Her husband and her parents are KU alumni.

Established by Congress in 1991, Eisenhower Transportation Fellowships are nationally competitive and awarded on the basis of merit, which includes class standing, grade-point average, transportation work experience, recommendation letters and the student’s proposed plan of study. The program’s objectives are to attract the best and brightest to the transportation profession, to encourage transportation research and retain top talent in the United States. Applications are evaluated by a review panel consisting of prominent transportation professionals.

The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus.

kunews@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045

KU Today

Subscribe to our daily newsletter covering research, academics, media coverage, campus news, events & more. Subscribe




The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).