KU News Release

June 4, 2010
Contact: Shirley Cunningham, Department of Psychology, (785) 864-4131

Psychology department honors students at annual awards ceremony

More Information

LAWRENCE — More than 200 graduating seniors in the Department of Psychology at the University of Kansas were honored during department’s annual recognition ceremony in May.

Ruth Ann Atchley, department chair and associate professor of cognitive/clinical psychology, and Greg Simpson, interim dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences and professor of cognitive psychology, welcomed the students and their guests.

Rick Ingram, professor of clinical psychology, presented to four graduating seniors engraved plaques for the Growth and Achievement Award, Senior Award, Service Award and Award for Outstanding Research by an Undergraduate.

Six more students were recognized for best honors thesis (three students), best class project, best independent study project and for best use of quantitative techniques.

Kayla Alysse Meyer, Leawood, graduating with a bachelor’s degree in psychology, addressed her fellow graduates.

Dennis Karpowitz, director of undergraduate studies in psychology, and Monica Biernat, professor of social psychology and director of the social program, introduced the graduating seniors attending the ceremony.

With more than 1,000 majors each year, psychology is one of the most popular undergraduate programs on campus. KU offers bachelor’s degrees in psychology and cognitive psychology and in developmental psychology at the Edwards Campus.

Funds for some of the awards are managed by KU Endowment, the official fundraising and fund-management foundation for KU. Founded in 1891, KU Endowment was the first foundation of its kind at a U.S. public university.

The award winners and student speaker are listed below by hometown, level in school or degree received, award, parents’ names and high school.

From Andover 67002 and Maize
Emily Diane Hooker, senior in psychology and strategic communication; best independent study project; daughter of Dave Hooker of Andover and Sheila Hooker of Maize; Andover Central High School.

From Le Roy 66857
Sabrina Coreen Gregersen, bachelor’s degree in psychology; Growth and Achievement Award, which recognizes an undergraduate for outstanding academic performance; daughter of David and Teresa Gregersen; Le Roy High School.

From De Soto 66018 and Lenexa 66215
Stacy M. Carter, bachelor’s degree in psychology; best honors thesis project; daughter of Bill and Cathy Carter; Mill Valley High School, Shawnee.

From Leawood 66206
Kayla Alysse Meyer, bachelor’s degree in psychology; keynote speaker; daughter of M. Susan Meyer; Shawnee Mission East High School, Prairie Village.

From Overland Park 66207 and Kansas City, Kan.
Mark Rockwell Osman, bachelor’s degree in cognitive psychology; best use of quantitative techniques; son of Stan Osman of Overland Park and Jane Vogl of Kansas City, Kan.; Shawnee Mission South High School.

From Prairie Village 66208
Sara Michelle McElhaney, bachelor’s degree in psychology; best honors thesis project; daughter of Phillip and Janice McElhaney; Shawnee Mission East High School.

From Hutchinson 67502
Carrie E. Mendoza, fall 2009 graduate in psychology; best class project; daughter of Michael and Peggy Mendoza; Hutchinson Senior High School.

From Maize 67101 and Andover
Emily Diane Hooker. See BUTLER COUNTY

From Topeka 66610
Stephanie Marie Atwood, bachelor’s degrees in psychology and women’s studies; Award for Outstanding Research by an Undergraduate; daughter of Mike and Jennie Atwood; Topeka High School.

Robert Dylan Fulmer, bachelor’s degree in psychology; Service Award for active involvement in the community; son of Robert and Louann Fulmer; Washburn Rural High School.

From Kansas City 66103 and Overland Park
Mark Rockwell Osman. See JOHNSON COUNTY

From Liberty 64068
Gregory Matthew Weseloh, bachelor’s degree in cognitive psychology; Senior Award for Outstanding Performance for excellence in academics, research and service to the department; son of Robert and Karen Weseloh; Liberty High School.

From Kajang, Selangor
Phylice Lim, bachelor’s degree in psychology; best honors thesis project; daughter of Soon Hock Lim.

The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus.

kunews@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045

KU Today

Subscribe to our daily newsletter covering research, academics, media coverage, campus news, events & more. Subscribe




The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).