KU News Release

March 10, 2010
Contact: Amanda Schwegler, Center for Service Learning, (785) 864-0960

KU named to national community service honor roll

KU student Emma Agren volunteers at Community Living Opportunity's Midnight Farms, an equestrian program for children and adults with special needs. (Photo by David McKinney)

KU School of Pharmacy student Van-Anh Hoang is mentored by Lawrence Memorial Hospital pharmacy technician Cheryl Trosper. (Photo by David McKinney)

More Information

LAWRENCE — For the fourth consecutive year, the University of Kansas has been named to the President’s Higher Education Community Service Honor Roll, the highest federal recognition a college or university can receive for its commitment to volunteering, service learning and civic engagement.

The 2009 honor roll recognizes institutions of higher learning based on the number of students who take part in service learning or community service, faculty involvement and total hours of service. The Corporation for National and Community Service administers the annual award.

“I am very proud that the University of Kansas has been selected for this outstanding honor once again,” said Chancellor Bernadette Gray-Little. “KU has a strong reputation for service, and I truly believe that students who take part in service not only make their communities stronger, they enhance their education in immeasurable ways.”

During the 2008-09 school year, more than 11,500 KU students took part in academic service learning or other forms of community service. Of those students, more than 5,000 contributed at least 20 hours of service per semester. In all, KU students took part in 971,758 hours of community service.

KU’s honor roll application highlighted several service programs, including the School of Medicine’s Jaydoc Free Clinic, where medical students provide free services to the community; the School of Law’s Volunteer Tax Income Assistance Program, which helps students and low-income taxpayers complete federal and state income tax returns; the Academy of Student Pharmacists’ efforts to provide free vaccinations for residents of Greensburg; the Planning to Achieve College Excellence student group’s March to College Day, a day to help educate local K-12 students about the opportunities of college; and the Adopt-a-School program, which places fraternity and sorority members in local elementary and middle schools to assist teachers in their classrooms.

Amanda Schwegler, assistant director of the Center for Service Learning, filed KU’s application and said the honor roll is recognition of the importance of service and has the potential to lead to more partnerships with the community.

“Being named to the honor roll shows that KU’s faculty and students are dedicated to helping address community needs by applying themselves both inside and outside the classroom,” Schwegler said. “I think the designation will not only draw attention to what has been undertaken at KU, but will also highlight the potential and opportunity for further undertakings with the community. Knowing KU’s capacity to collaborate could draw in faculty and students, encouraging them to initiate or join in on community-university collaborations.”

KU faculty, staff, students and alumni have declared a “semester of service” to honor the inauguration of Gray-Little as KU’s 17th chancellor. Volunteers have logged nearly 40,000 hours of service this spring. More information is available at the KU Works for Kansas Web site.

The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus.

kunews@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045

KU Today

Subscribe to our daily newsletter covering research, academics, media coverage, campus news, events & more. Subscribe




The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).