KU News Release

March 26, 2010
Contact: Kerrie Brecheisen, Department of Mathematics, (785) 864-3651

Math department adds sports theme to annual competition for area youngsters

More Information

LAWRENCE — Jump-shot mathematics and linear algebra on the gridiron are among the topics being explored during Mathematics Awareness Month at the University of Kansas.

More than 300 elementary, junior high and high school students from area schools will be on campus in April to participate in Mathematics Awareness Month activities that will include competitions and workshops. This year’s national theme is Mathematics and Sports.

On Saturday, April 3, students from grades three through 12 will compete for prizes at 406 Snow Hall. Top students in each category will receive awards. The competition has four levels: third to fourth grade, fifth to sixth grade, junior high and high school.

Workshops on the following Wednesdays, April 7 and 14, for sixth-graders from Hillcrest and Schwegler elementary schools in Lawrence will demonstrate to students on how math is used in our everyday lives.

Sports offers a cornucopia of instances involving data, strategies and chance, each of which is perfectly suited to mathematical analysis. Beyond the math needed for baseball and football statistics, mathematics is also used to calculate equipment design — such as the dimple patterns on golf balls or the composition of race car tires. Scheduling tournaments and ranking teams requires mathematics. Predictions of the ultimate limits in sports records involve mathematics. Even sports tactics involve mathematical analysis.

Along with activities and contests for schoolchildren, the math department also schedules a number of guest speakers throughout the month for the KU community and the public.

Schools participating in KU-hosted activities are listed below.

BALDWIN CITY: Baldwin Intermediate Center, Baldwin Junior High and Marion Springs Elementary


EUDORA: Eudora Elementary

LAWRENCE: Bishop Seabury Academy, Broken Arrow Elementary, Central Junior High, Cordley Elementary, Cottonwood Elementary, Free State High, Hillcrest Elementary, Kennedy Elementary, Langston Hughes Elementary, Lawrence High, New York Elementary, Prairie Park Elementary, Raintree Montessori, Schwegler Elementary, Southwest Junior High, Sunset Hill and West Junior High

LEAWOOD: Leawood Elementary, Leawood Middle, Prairie Star Elementary and Prairie Star Middle

LENEXA: Sunflower Elementary

OLATHE: Brougham Elementary, California Trail Junior High, Chisolm Trail Junior High, Green Springs Elementary, Olathe Northwest High School, Pioneer Trail Junior High, Prairie Trail Junior High and Regency Place Elementary School

OVERLAND PARK: Bentwood Elementary, Blue River Elementary, Blue Valley Northwest, Blue Valley West High, Cedar Hills Elementary, Christ Prep School, Cottonwood Point Elementary, Harmony Elementary, Harmony Middle, Heartland Elementary, Lakewood Elementary, Lakewood Middle, Morse Elementary, Oak Hill Elementary, Overland Trail Elementary, Overland Trail Middle, Oxford Middle, Pleasant Ridge Elementary, Pleasant Ridge Middle, Sunrise Point Elementary, Sunset Ridge Elementary, Timber Creek Elementary, Valley Park Elementary and Westridge Junior High

SHAWNEE MISSION: Christa McAuliffe Elementary, Mill Creek Elementary, Shawnee Mission Northwest High, Stanley Elementary and Trail Ridge Middle

STILWELL: Blue Valley High and Blue Valley Middle

TOPEKA: Farley Elementary, Indian Hills Elementary, Jay Shideler, Topeka Collegiate, Topeka High and Washburn Rural Middle

WELLSVILLE: Wellsville Elementary

KANSAS CITY, MO.: Congress Middle, Pembroke Hill and St. Paul’s Episcopal

The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus.

kunews@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045

KU Today

Subscribe to our daily newsletter covering research, academics, media coverage, campus news, events & more. Subscribe




The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).