KU News Release

April 14, 2011
Contact: Erin Curtis-Dierks, School of Music, 785-864-9742

Music students win top prizes at Naftzger Young Artists competition

More Information

LAWRENCE — University of Kansas music students took home several prizes, including the grand prize, at this year’s Naftzger Young Artists Auditions and Music Awards competition.

Eric Umble, a clarinet student studying with professor Stephanie Zelnick, took home the grand prize of $5,000 from the 71st annual Naftzger Young Artists competition, held April 2-3 at Friends University in Wichita. Umble was selected from nine finalists in a public recital that concluded two days of competition. Umble won with performances of Mozart’s Clarinet Concerto, Chausson’s Andante et Allegro and Stravinsky’s Three Pieces for Solo Clarinet with Holly Paige as collaborative pianist.

Ga Eun Kim, a violin performance student studying with professor Tami Lee Hughes, won the instrumental division and a cash prize of $2,000. Daniel Bruggeman, a piano performance student studying with Steven Spooner, won the piano division and a cash prize of $2,000. Kim won for her performances of Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto and Bach’s Solo Violin Sonata No. 2 in a minor fugue; Bruggeman won with his performance of Piano Concerto No. 2 by Béla Bartók.

Overall, KU music students have been very successful at the Naftzger competition. Joshua Charles won the piano division in 2009; Angela Solomon won top prize in the 2007 voice division; Kent Queener won the top piano prize in 2008; and the piano division and overall Naftzger winner in 2008 was KU student James Cockman III.

The Naftzger competition is open to residents of Kansas, Missouri and Oklahoma or nonresidents who are enrolled in a college, university or conservatory in one of those three states. Administered by the Wichita Symphony, there are competitions for cash prizes in piano, voice and instrumental categories, as well as one grand prize, totaling $11,000 in cash awards. The Naftzger Young Artists Auditions and Awards are made possible by the Nafzger Fund for Fine Arts Inc., created by Mr. and Mrs. M.C. Naftzger in memory of L.S. Naftzger, Ida L. Naftzger and Lee Southwell Nafzger II.

A total of 48 students entered this year’s Naftzger competition.

Winning KU students are listed below by hometown, level in school, major, parents’ names and high school.

From Lancaster 17602
Eric Umble, sophomore in clarinet performance; Ron and Diane Umble; Lancaster Mennonite School.

From Sioux Falls 57103
Daniel Bruggeman, doctoral student in piano performance; Steve and Debra Bruggeman; Washington High School.

From Seoul
Ga-Eun Kim, junior in violin performance; Kang-Sook Lee; Seoul Arts High School.

The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus.

kunews@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045

KU Today

Subscribe to our daily newsletter covering research, academics, media coverage, campus news, events & more. Subscribe




The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).