KU News Release

April 25, 2011
Contact: Erin Curtis-Dierks, School of Music, 785-864-9742

Music students chosen to perform in graduate honors recital

More Information

LAWRENCE — The University of Kansas School of Music chose several students to perform in the spring graduate honors recital.

The recital took place April 20 in Swarthout Recital Hall. This year’s graduate honors recital performers were:

David Chavannes
Jiwon Choi
Etta Fung
Crystal Lam
Doug Perry
Laura Potter
Brad Walker
Lawrence 5: Bo Atlas, Jeremy Dowden, Breanna Ellison, Janis Porietis and Mason Tyler
Piano duo: Sunyoung Ju and Suk Jung Woo

The performers are listed below by hometown, level in school, major, faculty adviser, parents’ name and high school or previous degrees earned.

From Ellis 67637 and El Cajon, Calif.
Breanna Ellison, junior studying French horn performance and piano; Professor Paul Stevens; Laura Ellison (Ellis) and Tom Ellison (El Cajon, Calif.); Ellis High School.

From Derby 67037
Mason Tyler, doctoral student studying trumpet performance; Professor Steve Leisring; Michael and Michelle Tyler; master’s degree from Oklahoma City University; bachelor’s degree from KU; Derby High School.

From El Cajon and Ellis, Kan.
Breanna Ellison. See ELLIS COUNTY

From Morgan Hill 95128
Ravil Atlas II (performs as Bo Atlas), senior studying tuba performance; Professor Scott Watson; Robin and Ed Church; Abraham Lincoln High School.

From Golden 80401
Laura Potter, doctoral student studying tuba performance; Professor Scott Watson; Cathryn and Christopher Potter; bachelor’s degree from University of Memphis; Lakewood High School.

From West Hartford 06117
Doug Perry, master’s student studying percussion performance; Professor Ji Hye Jung; Stephen Perry and Sharon Dennison; bachelor’s degree from Peabody Institute; Hall High School.

From Palatine 60067
Brad Walker, master’s student studying voice; Professor John Stephens; David and Joanne Walker; bachelor’s degree from Michigan State University; Lake Zurich High School.

From Terrell 75160
Jeremy Dowden, master’s student studying trombone performance; Professor Michael Davidson; John and Janet Dowden; Kaufman High School.

Kai Yin Crystal Lam, doctoral student studying piano performance; Professor Jack Winerock; master’s degree from Texas Christian University; bachelor’s degree from Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts.

Etta Fung, master’s student studying voice/opera; Professor Joyce Castle; bachelor’s degrees from Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts and Chinese University, Hong Kong.

From Montego Bay, St. James
David Chavannes, master’s student studying choral conducting and piano performance; Professor Steven Spooner; Herbert Morrison Technical High School.

From Riga
Janis Porietis, doctoral student studying trumpet performance; Professor Steve Leisring; master’s and bachelor’s degrees from Jazeps Vitols Latvian Academy of Music.

From Pusan
Jiwon Choi, doctoral student in musical arts; master’s degree from Roosevelt University; bachelor’s degree from Dong-A University.

From Seoul
Sun-young Ju, doctoral student in musical performance; master’s degree from KU; bachelor’s degree from EWHA Women’s University.

From Sung-nam
Suk Jung Woo, doctoral student in musical arts; master’s degree from SUNY College at Potsdam; bachelor’s degree from Kon-Kuk University.

The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus.

kunews@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045

KU Today

Subscribe to our daily newsletter covering research, academics, media coverage, campus news, events & more. Subscribe




The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).