KU News Release

April 29, 2011
Contact: Erin Curtis-Dierks, School of Music, 785-864-9742

Student sweeps annual music theory and music composition division awards

More Information

LAWRENCE — For the first time, an undergraduate in the University of Kansas School of Music has taken all three of the music theory and music composition division awards.

Jason Charney, a junior from Overland Park, received the Anthony B. Cius Award for most outstanding composer at KU. This marks the first year the award has been presented to an undergraduate since 2006. He also received the Edward Mattila Award for most outstanding electro-acoustical composer at KU and the Eugene and Mary Mingle Scholarship.

The Eugene and Mary Mingle Scholarship is awarded to the most outstanding theory and/or composition student who will return to KU for his or her final year of undergraduate study. This year, two scholarships were given out: one to Charney and one to music composition and piano student Erin Tomkins.

All music theory and music composition students are considered for the awards. Nominations for the awards are made by and voted on by division faculty.

Winners are listed below by hometown, level in school, major, parents’ names and high school (when available).

From Lawrence 66047
Erin Tomkins, senior studying music composition and piano performance with professors Forrest Pierce (composition) and Richard Reber (piano); Ray Tomkins and Sheila Murphy.

From Overland Park 66209
Jason Charney, junior studying music composition with professor Forrest Pierce; Gil and Marcia Charney; Blue Valley North High School.

The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus.

kunews@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045

KU Today

Subscribe to our daily newsletter covering research, academics, media coverage, campus news, events & more. Subscribe




The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).