KU News Release

Aug. 26, 2011
Contact: Gavin Young, Office of Public Affairs, 785-864-7105

KU announces seventh Kemper Fellowship winner of 2011

2011 Kemper Awards

LAWRENCE — The University of Kansas “surprise patrol” today presented a professor with another 2011 $7,500 Kemper Fellowship for Teaching Excellence, the seventh and final 2011 fellowship to be awarded on the Lawrence campus.

Today’s winner is Chris Depcik, assistant professor of mechanical engineering. Professor Depcik joins this year’s previous winners: Jorge Pérez, Anna Neill, Andrea Herstowski, Robert Ward, Arvin Agah and Joey Sprague.

The Kemper fellowships recognize outstanding teachers and advisers at KU as determined by a seven-member selection committee. Now in their 16th year, the awards are supported by an annual gift of $37,500 from the William T. Kemper Foundation (Commerce Bank, trustee) and $37,500 in matching funds from KU Endowment.

The William T. Kemper Foundation was established in 1989 after the death of the Kansas City, Mo., banking executive and civic leader. The foundation supports Midwest communities and concentrates on initiatives in education, health and human services, civic improvements and the arts.

KU Endowment is the independent, nonprofit organization serving as the official fundraising and fund-management organization for KU. Founded in 1891, KU Endowment is the first foundation of its kind at a U.S. public university.

For more information, visit http://www.news.ku.edu/kemper_awards.

PROFESSOR PROFILE: Chris Depcik, Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering

Depcik joined the Mechanical Engineering faculty in 2008, but as one student wrote, “In his short time at the University of Kansas, he has accomplished a culture shift in the mechanical engineering department through the proposal and implementation of the Eco-Hawk senior design program and club.”

The EcoHawks have grown out of Depcik’s ME 645 capstone design course and have been recognized in local and national media for their work on sustainable design for automobiles. Wired.com has highlighted the students’ work designing and building a biodiesel hybrid Beetle and a solar powered charging station. Depcik has brought a commitment to sustainable design and an interdisciplinary approach to his research. Students have worked closely, for example, with Chemical Engineers on biofuels. Depcik has led a Center for Teacher Excellence Summit workshop on sustainability education.

Students have also praised Depcik for matching his commitment to research with an enthusiasm for advising. Graduates who have gone on to positions at employers ranging from Black & Veetch to the Johnson Space Center credit Depcik for connecting theory and research to real world applications.

Depcik has been honored by the School of Engineering with the Henry E. Gould Award for undergraduate engineering advising and the Wesley G. Cramer Outstanding Faculty Award.

The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus.

kunews@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045

KU Today

Subscribe to our daily newsletter covering research, academics, media coverage, campus news, events & more. Subscribe




The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).