KU News Release

Aug. 30, 2011
Contact: Libby Johnson, Student Body President, 785-864-3710

Student Senate to unveil plaque to celebrate completion of Underground expansion

More Information

LAWRENCE — Representatives from Student Senate will unveil the official plaque to be displayed in the recently expanded Wescoe Underground on Sept. 1 at 4:15 p.m. The event is open to media and the public.

The expansion was a collaborative effort between Student Senate and KU Memorial Unions.

The Underground expansion was a platform initiative of the 2010-11 Student Senate administration under former Student Body President Michael Wade Smith and Student Body Vice President Megan Ritter. Senate worked alongside the KU Memorial Unions to add approximately 3,000 square feet and 140 additional seats. The project was completed on schedule and was funded through student fees. The expansion was under budget with total expenses of approximately $478,000.

The unveiling ceremony will include representatives from the Student Senate and KU Memorial Unions.

The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus.

kunews@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045

KU Today

Subscribe to our daily newsletter covering research, academics, media coverage, campus news, events & more. Subscribe




The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).