KU News Release

Aug. 31, 2011
Contact: Jim Marchiony 785-864-3359

Statements from Chancellor Bernadette Gray-Little and Athletics Director Sheahon Zenger Regarding the Big 12 Conference

More Information

Chancellor Bernadette Gray-Little:

"Today Texas A&M notified the Big 12 of its intention to leave the conference at the end of the 2011-12 season. The Big 12 had already started actively examining expansion opportunities and KU fully supports this effort.

"The high level of competition in the Big 12 provides tremendous value to its member schools and excitement for fans around the country. We'll aggressively pursue the best interests of the University of Kansas, our student-athletes and fans, and that continues to be for the Big 12 to remain strong and competitive."

Athletics Director Sheahon Zenger:

"We have known for some time that this was a possibility. We have nine institutions firmly committed to the Big 12 Conference. Chancellor Gray-Little and I will continue working together with Commissioner Beebe, the Big 12 Board of Directors and the other conference members as we take the necessary steps to ensure the continued strength of this conference."

The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus.

kunews@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045

KU Today

Subscribe to our daily newsletter covering research, academics, media coverage, campus news, events & more. Subscribe




The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).