KU News Release

Feb. 10, 2011
Contact: Emily Huckabay, Office for Diversity in Science Training, 785-864-7316

KU announces 2011 Kansas IDeA Network scholarship recipients

LAWRENCE — Eleven students at the University of Kansas have received 2011 undergraduate research scholarships through the Kansas IDeA (Institutional Development Awards) Network of Biomedical Research Excellence program.

Seven students received scholarships for spring and summer 2011 funded by the Kansas IDeA Network of Biomedical Research Excellence, or K-INBRE. Four more received summer scholarships funded through the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act.

The K-INBRE undergraduate scholarship program at the Lawrence campus is funded through a $25.6 million National Institutes of Health grant to KU. Joan Hunt, vice chancellor for biomedical research infrastructure at the KU Medical Center and University Distinguished Professor of Anatomy and Cell Biology, is principal investigator.

The Lawrence campus is one of 10 participating campuses that receive support. James A. Orr, professor of molecular biosciences and director of the Office for Diversity in Science Training, is the Lawrence campus coordinator for the program.

The scholarships encourage students to pursue careers in science and, ultimately, promote biomedical research in Kansas. The spring 2011 scholarships provide up to $2,000, and summer 2011 scholarships provide up to $4,000.
Students receiving K-INBRE scholarships through the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act were eligible for a $4,000 stipend plus a $1,000 supply budget for summer 2011.

Scholarships are awarded based on merit and quality of an applicant’s research proposal. Scholars are selected by a multidisciplinary committee made up of faculty members from participating departments.

Scholars will present their research results at the 2011 Summer Undergraduate Research Symposium on campus and at the K-INBRE statewide symposium in January 2012.
The K-INBRE program was funded in 2001. The first scholarships were issued to KU undergraduates in summer 2002. Since then, the program has provided support to 85 KU students.

Participating network partners are Emporia State University, Fort Hays State University, Haskell Indian Nations University, Kansas State University, KU’s Lawrence campus, KU Medical Center, Pittsburg State University, Washburn University, Wichita State University and Langston (Okla.) University.

The 2011 undergraduate research scholarship recipients are listed below by hometown, level in school, major, parents’ names, high school, scholarship, faculty mentor and title of research project.

From Winfield 67156
Joel Thomas Finney, senior in biochemistry and chemistry; Susan and James Finney; Winfield High School; K-INBRE Scholar; Minae Mure, assistant professor of chemistry; “Biochemical Characterization of Prolyl-4-hydroxylase from Bacillus anthracis.”

From Lawrence 66047
Erica T. Goddard, senior in microbiology; Stephen and Diane Goddard; Lawrence High School; K-INBRE Scholar; David Davido, assistant professor in molecular biosciences; “Transcriptional Interference of the Antiviral Gene, PML, by Herpes Simplex Virus Type 1.”

From Overland Park 66209
Erin Ellen Diel, senior in biology; Ellen Beedle and Bruce Diel; Blue Valley North High School; ARRA K-INBRE Scholar; Brian Ackley, assistant professor in molecular biosciences; “A chemical biology screen for in vivo phosphatase inhibitors.”

From Overland Park 66213
Danse Bi, senior in biochemistry and chemistry; Chengpeng Bi; Blue Valley Northwest High School; K-INBRE Scholar; Paul Hanson, professor of chemistry; “The Synthesis of Sultam Libraries Utilizing Hetero-Michael Pathways.”

From Overland Park 66221
Vinit Snehal Nanavaty, junior in biochemistry; Snehal and Falguni Nanavaty; Blue Valley Northwest High School; ARRA K-INBRE Scholar; Kristi Neufeld, associate professor in molecular biosciences; “Role of nuclear APC in survival and tumor suppression of APC truncation mice.”

From Derby 67037
Danielle Dee Stuhlsatz, senior in microbiology; Davina and Robert Stuhlsatz; Derby High School; K-INBRE Scholar; Wonpil Im, assistant professor in molecular biosciences; “Properties of Lipid A Bilayers Analyzed By Molecular Dynamics Simulations.”

From Wichita 67219
Helen Sharon Jin, junior in biochemistry; Rong Shao and Zhiren Jin; Wichita High School East; K-INBRE Scholar; William Dentler, professor of molecular biosciences; “Protein structures in tips of cilia and flagella.”

From Wichita 67226
Aaron G. Bart, senior in biochemistry; Gerald and Roopa Bart; Independent High School; K-INBRE Scholar; Emily Scott, associate professor of medicinal chemistry; “X-ray structure of the human enzyme responsible for adrenaline biosynthesis (hPNMT) with a selective bisubstrate inhibitor.”

From Topeka 66610
Peter Andrew Ebeling, senior in biochemistry; John and Andrea Ebeling; Topeka High School; ARRA K-INBRE Scholar; John Kelly, associate professor of ecology and evolutionary biology; “Sequencing and Bioinformatic Analysis of Anthocyanin Genes in Mimulus Guttatus.”

From Topeka 66618
Phillip Michael Morris, senior in chemical engineering; Malynda Perkins and Richard Morris; Derby High School; ARRA K-INBRE Scholar; Wonpil Im, assistant professor in molecular biosciences; “Exploring Membrane-Protein Interactions Using Molecular Dynamics Simulations of Membrane Bilavers and Gramicidin A.”

From Lee’s Summit 64063
Hailey Alyse Baker, sophomore in microbiology; Amy Baker; Lee’s Summit North High School; K-INBRE Scholar; Robert Cohen, associate professor of molecular biosciences; “A bioinformatic approach for the identification of RNA localization elements.”

The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus.

kunews@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045

KU Today

Subscribe to our daily newsletter covering research, academics, media coverage, campus news, events & more. Subscribe




The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).