KU News Release

Feb. 16, 2011
Contact: Scott Harris, debate coach, (785) 864-9878

Two KU teams qualify for National Debate Tournament

More Information

LAWRENCE — For the 44th consecutive year, two University of Kansas teams have qualified to compete at the National Debate Tournament to be held March 25-28 in Dallas, Texas.

Dylan Quigley and Sean Kennedy and Patrick Kennedy and Matthew Petersen received invitations to compete at the 2011 tournament. Quigley and Peterson are both seniors from Wichita and the Kennedy brothers are both juniors from Leawood.

The top 16 individual teams in the country based on performance throughout the season are selected by a national committee as automatic qualifiers for the tournament. KU and Northwestern University were the only schools to have two teams named as automatic qualifiers.

Schools qualifying one team each were the University of California-Berkeley, Emory University, Georgetown University, the University of Georgia, Gonzaga University, Harvard University, Loyola Marymount University, the University of Michigan, the University of Oklahoma, the University of Texas-Dallas, Towson University and Vanderbilt University. The remainder of the 78-team field will be filled through tournaments taking place in the next three weeks.

In the final coaches poll of the regular season, KU ranked third. The top five schools in the final poll were Northwestern, Emory, KU, Harvard and Berkeley.

In the final tournament of the regular season hosted by Kansas State University from Feb. 12 to 14, KU debaters Melanie Campbell, Lenexa, and Andrew Jamison, Goddard, both sophomores, took second place in the varsity division. Freshmen debaters Jyleesa Hampton and Aaron Miller, both from Overland Park, took second in the junior varsity division. Megan Mapes, freshman from Topeka, and Mark Schmitz, sophomore from Colleyville, Texas, finished in fifth place in the open division.

KU has competed in intercollegiate debate since 1885 and has one of the most successful policy debate programs in the country. KU teams have won the National Debate Tournament five times, most recently in 2009.

Debate team members are listed below by hometown, year in school, major, parents’ names and high school.

From Leawood 66206
Patrick Michael Kennedy, junior in economics; son of Chris and Joan Kennedy; Shawnee Mission East High School.

Sean Christopher Kennedy, junior in linguistics; son of Chris and Joan Kennedy; Shawnee Mission East High School.

From Lenexa 66215
Melanie Tara Campbell, sophomore in political science; daughter of Kevin and Petra Campbell; Shawnee Mission West High School.

From Overland Park 66207
Aaron Jacob Miller, freshman in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences; son of Malinde Miller; Shawnee Mission South High School.

From Overland Park 66212
Jylessa Renee Hampton, freshman in political science; daughter of Reba and Matthew Tate; Shawnee Mission South High School.

From Goddard 67052
Andrew William Jamison, sophomore in linguistics; son of Fred and Gail Jamison; Goddard Senior High School.

From Wichita 67208 and 67218
Dylan Quigley, senior in philosophy; son of Tim Quigley (67218) and Trix Niemberger (67208); Wichita High School East.

From Wichita 67218
Mathew Petersen, senior in economics; son of Laura Peterson-Miller and Virgil Miller; Wichita High School East.

From Topeka 66614
Megan Michelle Mapes, freshman in political science; daughter of Lawrence and Mary Mapes; Topeka West High School.

From Colleyville 76034
Mark W. Schmitz, sophomore in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences; son of Kurt and Peggy Schmitz; Grapevine (Texas) Senior High School.

The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus.

kunews@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045

KU Today

Subscribe to our daily newsletter covering research, academics, media coverage, campus news, events & more. Subscribe




The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).