KU News Release

Feb. 22, 2011
Contact: Erin Curtis-Dierks, School of Music, 785-864-9742

Piano students score top prizes in Hays Symphony Orchestra competition

Stanton Nelson

More Information

LAWRENCE — Stanton Nelson, a sophomore at the University of Kansas studying piano performance, won the $1,000 first prize at the 2011 Hays Symphony Orchestra Young Artists’ Competition.

Nelson won for his performance of the first movement of Schumann’s “Piano Concerto in A minor, op. 54.”

Andrew Petracca, a freshman studying piano, won a third-place cash prize of $400 for his performance of Liszt’s “Concerto No. 1 in E-flat major, S. 124.”

Nelson studies piano at KU with Jack Winerock and Scott McBride Smith; Petracca studies with Winerock and Carol Ross.

The competition finals took place Feb. 12 at Fort Hays State University. Past first-place winners from KU’s School of Music include Connie Mak (2009, piano); Christopher Nichols (2008, clarinet); and Emma Casey (2007, flute).

Stanton is the son of Terry and Sara Nelson of Long Island, Kan., and a graduate of Northern Valley High School.

Petracca is the son of Michael and Teresa Petracca of La Habra, Calif., and a graduate of Mother of Divine Grace School, Ojai, Calif.

The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus.

kunews@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045

KU Today

Subscribe to our daily newsletter covering research, academics, media coverage, campus news, events & more. Subscribe




The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).