KU News Release

Feb. 3, 2011
Contact: Alison Watkins, International Programs, 785-864-4963

Students with interest in international studies named Global Scholars

More Information

LAWRENCE — Fifteen sophomores at the University of Kansas have been named Global Scholars.

The 15 students come from disciplines across the university. They were selected for their demonstrated interest in global and international studies, plans for studying abroad and potential for continued high academic achievement and leadership.

The new program is coordinated by Juliet Kaarbo, director of faculty programs for International Programs.

Each student will participate in a three-hour seminar taught during the spring semester; be paired with a faculty mentor with similar interests for the remainder of his or her undergraduate studies; and present research on global and international studies during the spring semester of his or her senior year.

The first Global Scholars will complete an interdisciplinary seminar called “Truth in a Global Society,” taught by Brent Steele, associate professor of political science, and will receive a $1,000 scholarship to be applied toward a KU-approved study abroad program.

“This is a fantastic opportunity that supports some of our very best students with international scholarly and career interests,” Kaarbo said. “The first cohort is strong, with an average GPA of 3.9. The program will really make a difference in these students’ academic experiences at KU.”

This program is supported financially by a gift from KU alumnus Richard Paegelow.

The 2011 Global Scholars are listed below by hometown, major, parents’ names, high school and faculty mentor.

From Arkansas City 67005
Sara Sneath, sophomore in journalism and sociology; Lisa Thyfault and Gene Sneath; Arkansas City High School; Barbara Barnett, associate professor of journalism

From Lawrence 66046
Jeff Miller, sophomore in Latin American studies and anthropology; Ann and Byron Miller; Bishop Seabury Academy; John Hoopes, associate professor of anthropology

From Lawrence 66049
Sarah Stern, sophomore in journalism and Latin American studies; Joan and George Stern; Free State High School; Melissa Birch, associate professor of business

From Ottawa 66067
Jay Patel, sophomore in psychology and Spanish; Sunil and Mitesha Patel; Ottawa High School; Ludwin Molina, assistant professor of psychology

From Overland Park 66223
Joshua Dean, sophomore in political science and economics; Tom and Peggy Dean; Blue Valley High School; Mariya Omelichea, assistant professor of political science

From Shawnee 66216
Laura Weaver, sophomore in political science and economics; Mary Ellen and Gary Weaver; Shawnee Mission Northwest High School; Brent Steele, associate professor of political science

From Manhattan 66502
Taylor Patterson, sophomore in ecology and evolutionary biology; Jami Ramsey and Robert Patterson; Manhattan High School; Craig Martin, professor of ecology and evolutionary biology

From Salina 67401
Ryan House, sophomore in human biology; Linda Lawrence and Ray House; Salina Central High School; Steve Schroeder, director of the Bureau of Child Research

From Cheney 67025
Samuel Casner, sophomore in linguistics and philosophy; Rex and Elle Casner; Cheney High School; Ann Cudd, professor of philosophy

From Wichita 67208
Amy Sinclair, sophomore in microbiology and Russian; Leland Sinclair and Kirsten Johnson; Wichita High School East; Susan Egan, professor of microbiology

From Wichita 67230
Matthew Werner, sophomore in electrical engineering and computer science; Brian and Mary Werner; The Independent School; David Petr, professor of electrical engineering and computer science

From Wichita 67235
Alexandra Chase, sophomore in psychology and international studies; Stan and Melanie Chase; Wichita Northwest High School; Glenn Adams, associate professor of psychology

From Berryton 66409
Sarah McCabe, sophomore in journalism and English; Dawna and Mark McCabe; Shawnee Heights High School; Katie Conrad, associate professor of English

From Topeka 66614
Kathryn Fankhauser, sophomore in environmental studies and French; Greg and Sally Fankhauser; Washburn Rural High School; Beverly Mack, professor of African and African-American studies

From Jiangsu
Shenji Pan, sophomore in mathematics and economics; Jian Pan and Yuxin Huang; Jiangsu Province Changshu High School; Dennis Karney, the Ned N. Fleming Distinguished Teaching Professor, School of Business

The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus.

kunews@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045

KU Today

Subscribe to our daily newsletter covering research, academics, media coverage, campus news, events & more. Subscribe




The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).