KU News Release

Feb. 3, 2011
Contact: Jennifer Jackson Sanner, KU Alumni Association, (785) 864-4760

KU to honor 27 seniors from high schools in Marshall and Washington counties

More Information

LAWRENCE — Students from eight Kansas high schools will be honored Thursday, Feb. 17, by the University of Kansas Alumni Association and KU Endowment.

A total of 27 seniors from high schools in Marshall and Washington counties will be recognized for their academic achievements and named Kansas Honor Scholars at a 6:30 p.m. dinner and program at the St. Monica-St. Elizabeth Church hall, 1007 East Ave., Blue Rapids.

The Kansas Honors Program celebrates its 40th anniversary this year. Since 1971, the program has recognized 114,000 scholars, who rank in the top 10 percent of their high school senior classes and are selected regardless of occupational plans or higher-education goals. Each year, the KU Alumni Association and its volunteers host 41 programs that reach all 105 counties across the state.

During the ceremony, each student will receive an American Heritage Dictionary, in both hardback and electronic versions, presented by Michelle Miles, assistant director of Kansas programs for the KU Alumni Association.

Heath Peterson, assistant vice president of alumni programs for the KU Alumni Association, will speak to the students and their parents and guests.

Honored students will be guests of the alumni association and KU Endowment; parents and area alumni are welcome to attend at a cost of $15 each.

Community volunteers collect reservations, coordinate details and serve as local contacts for the event. Dr. Kenneth and Zita Duensing, of Blue Rapids, are the Marshall County coordinators. Dr. Larry and Nancy Stoppel, of Washington, are the Washington County coordinators.

The Kansas Honors Program is made possible by KU Endowment and proceeds from the Jayhawk license plate program.

Axtell High School: Kevin Ronnebaum and Mark Stallbaumer

Clifton-Clyde High School: Blair Bloomfield, Alyssa Hubert and Bryna Knox

Frankfort High School: Jordan Kennedy, Matthew Roeder and Rebecca Roeder

Hanover High School: Christy Bruna and Kimberly Doebele

Linn High School: Nathan Edgar, Shelby Hatesohl, Alisha Meyer, Carole Stuenkel and Micala Woltje

Marysville High School: Scotti Claeys, Charlton Holthaus, Sarah Huerter, Jackie Lehechka, Stephanie Martin and Kiley Schwarz

Valley Heights High School: Miranda Bargdill, Aaron Boeschling and Eleanor Musil

Washington County High School: Bonnie Bailey, Huber Orin and Brooke Stamm

The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus.

kunews@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045

KU Today

Subscribe to our daily newsletter covering research, academics, media coverage, campus news, events & more. Subscribe




The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).