KU News Release

Feb. 3, 2011
Contact: Charla Jenkins, University Theatre, 785-864-2684

Students, alumni win awards at regional theater competition

More Information

LAWRENCE — University of Kansas students and alumni brought home several awards from the Region V Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival XLIII, held Jan. 16-21 in Ames, Iowa.

Doctoral student Scott Cox, Kansas City, Mo., was selected for the final round of the Irene Ryan Acting Scholarship Auditions and won a cash prize for the Classical Acting Award. He was nominated for his performance as Bottom in “A Midsummer Night’s Dream.” His acting partner was James Teller, a junior from Pittsburg.

Jake Smith, a senior from Council Grove, also competed in the final round of the Irene Ryan auditions with his acting partner Darwin Lujan, a senior from Wichita. Smith played Louie in the KU production of “Lost in Yonkers.”

Lavinia C. Roberts, who received a bachelor’s degree in summer 2009, won the Best 10-Minute Play Award for her short play “He’s Gonna See Stars.”

KU’s November production of “A Midsummer Night’s Dream,” received special commendations, including certificates to Paul Meier, professor of theatre, David Crystal, internationally known Welsh linguist, and the cast for Achievement in Dialect Work; Erin Tomkins, a senior from Lawrence, for Achievement in Sound Design; Delbert Unruh, professor of theatre, for Achievement in Lighting Design; and the cast for Achievement in Ensemble Work.

Graduate scenography students Tammy Keiser, Blue Springs, Mo., and Phillip Schroeder, Olathe, also attended the festival and participated in the Region V Graduate Design Competition.

Students competing are listed below by hometown, level in school, major, parents’ names, schools attended or degrees earned and role in the competition.

From Pittsburg 66762
James Dennis Teller, junior in theatre; Stephen and Nikki Teller; Pittsburg High School; acting partner in final round of the Irene Ryan Acting Scholarship Auditions

From Lawrence 66047
Erin Murphy Tomkins, senior in music composition; Shelia Murphy and Ray Tomkins; Conlara School, Ann Arbor, Mich.; special commendation for Achievement in Sound Design

From Olathe 66062
Phillip J. Schroeder, master’s student in theatre design; summer 2009 bachelor’s degree in theatre and film from KU; participated in the Region V Graduate Design Competition

From Parsons 67357
Lavinia C. Roberts, summer 2009 bachelor’s degree in fine arts from KU; Best 10-minute Play

From Council Grove 66846
Jake Smith, senior in theatre and English; Marc and Molly Smith; competed in the final round of the Irene Ryan auditions

From Wichita 67220
Darwin Luján, senior in theatre; Efraim and Jody Luján; Wichita North High School; acting partner in the final round of the Irene Ryan auditions

From Blue Springs 64015
Tammy Keiser, master’s student in scenography; 1986 bachelor’s degree from the Kansas City Art Institute; 2002 master’s degree from University of Central Missouri; participated in the Region V Graduate Design Competition

From Kansas City 64151
Scott Cox, doctoral student in theatre; bachelor’s degree in theatre from Missouri State University; master’s in playwriting and dramaturgy from the University of Missouri-Kansas City; competed in the final round of the Irene Ryan auditions and won the Classical Acting Award

The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus.

kunews@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045

KU Today

Subscribe to our daily newsletter covering research, academics, media coverage, campus news, events & more. Subscribe




The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).