KU News Release

Feb. 9, 2011
Contact: Jennifer Kinnard, William Allen White School of Journalism and Mass Communications, 785-864-7644

Pulitzer winner to receive 2011 William Allen White Foundation’s national citation

LAWRENCE — John S. Carroll, Pulitzer Prize-winning editor, will receive the William Allen White Foundation’s 2011 national citation at 1:30 p.m. Friday, Feb. 11, at Woodruff Auditorium in the Kansas Union. He will give a speech titled “Ideology in a Hurricane” at the public ceremony.

The Los Angeles Times won 13 Pulitzer Prizes during Carroll’s five years there as editor. He also directed coverage that won Pulitzers at the Philadelphia Inquirer, Lexington Herald-Leader and Baltimore Sun. Currently, he is a fellow at the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and is a freelance author writing a book.

“The school of journalism is pleased to honor John Carroll and we welcome him to the KU campus,” said Ann Brill, dean of the school. “The William Allen White Foundation’s national citation is a major honor for which he is most deserving.”

In 2006, Carroll served as Knight Visiting Lecturer at the Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University. He served on the Pulitzer Prize Board from 1994 to 2003 and was its chairman in 2002. He also was an elected fellow at the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2003.

His many awards include Richard Clurman Award, as a mentor of young journalists, in 2009; American Society of Newspaper Editors Leadership Award in 2004; Burton Benjamin Memorial Award of the Committee to Protect Journalists, for lifetime achievement in defense of press freedom, in 2004; the Haverford Award for Service to Society, from Haverford College, in 2003; and Editor of the Year from the National Press Foundation in 1998.

Carroll served in the Army from 1964 to 1966. His first job in journalism was as a reporter for the Providence Journal-Bulletin. Later, while at the Baltimore Sun, he was posted to Vietnam, the Middle East and Washington. In the 1970s, he was metropolitan editor of the Philadelphia Inquirer.

He earned a bachelor’s in English literature from Haverford College in Haverford, Pa., in 1963. He also holds honorary degrees from Lawrence University, Pennsylvania State University, Haverford College and Transylvania University. He was a Nieman Fellow at Harvard University from 1971 to 1972 and was a Visiting Journalist Fellow at Queen Elizabeth House, Oxford, in 1988.

The William Allen White Foundation trustees chose Carroll to receive the citation, presented annually since 1950. KU’s William Allen White School of Journalism and Mass Communications is named in White’s honor. White (1868-1944) was a nationally influential Kansas editor and publisher. He won the Pulitzer Prize in 1923 and posthumously in 1947.

Other notable recipients of the William Allen White Citation include Walter Cronkite, 1969; Arthur O. Sulzberger, 1974; James J. Kilpatrick, 1979; Helen Thomas, 1986; Charles Kuralt, 1989; Bernard Shaw, 1994; Bob Woodward, 2000; Molly Ivins, 2001; Cokie Roberts, 2002; Gerald F. Seib, 2005; Gordon Parks, 2006; Seymour Hersh, 2008; and Leonard Pitts Jr., 2010. A complete listing of past recipients is available online at www.journalism.ku.edu.

The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus.

kunews@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045

KU Today

Subscribe to our daily newsletter covering research, academics, media coverage, campus news, events & more. Subscribe




The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).