KU News Release

Feb. 9, 2011
Contact: Jennifer Jackson Sanner, KU Alumni Association, (785) 864-4760

KU to honor 37 high school seniors from Jackson and Nemaha counties

More Information

LAWRENCE — Students from nine Kansas high schools will be honored Wednesday, Feb. 23, by the University of Kansas Alumni Association and KU Endowment.

A total of 37 seniors from high schools in Jackson and Nemaha counties will be recognized for their academic achievements and named Kansas Honor Scholars at a 6:30 p.m. dinner and program at the First United Methodist Church, 1401 W. 4th St., Holton.

The Kansas Honors Program celebrates its 40th anniversary this year. Since 1971, the program has recognized 114,000 scholars, who rank in the top 10 percent of their high school senior classes and are selected regardless of occupational plans or higher-education goals. Each year, the KU Alumni Association and its volunteers host 41 programs that reach all 105 counties across the state.

During the ceremony, each student will receive an American Heritage Dictionary, in both hardback and electronic versions, presented by Michelle Miles, assistant director of Kansas programs for the KU Alumni Association.

Ken Audus, dean of the School of Pharmacy, will speak to the students and their parents and guests.

Honored students will be guests of the alumni association and KU Endowment; parents and area alumni are welcome to attend at a cost of $15 each.

Community volunteers collect reservations, coordinate details and serve as local contacts for the event. Matt and Paula Taylor, of Holton, are the site coordinators and Jackson County coordinators. Jackie Olberding, of Seneca, is the Nemaha County coordinator.

The Kansas Honors Program is made possible by KU Endowment and proceeds from the Jayhawk license plate program.

B&B High School: Logan Haug, Kelsey Kramer and Nicole Rottinghaus

Bern High School: Valerie Hecht

Centralia High School: Sabrina Allen, Renee Heideman, Jill Kramer, Ciara Stallbaumer and Roxann Steinlage

Holton High School: Kyle Beecher, Tanner Clark, Genny Fitzpatrick, Brandon Haefke, Forrestal Hickman, Dylan Parks, Amanda Spade and Lindsey Yonke

Jackson Heights High School: Ross Allen, Jacey Holliday, Carrie Lierz and Caitlin Messer

Nemaha Valley High School: Makenna Imholte, Jordan Meyer and Erica Rottinghaus

Royal Valley High School: Abigail Albright, Aaron Blevins, William Carey, Madison Hoover, Ramzey Ingels and Maggie Stithem

Sabetha High School: Gabrielle Bauman, Emily Cox, Levi Grimm, Joshua Hartter, Cesali Shaver and Andrea Tangeman

Wetmore High School: Megan Henry

The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus.

kunews@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045

KU Today

Subscribe to our daily newsletter covering research, academics, media coverage, campus news, events & more. Subscribe




The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).