KU News Release

Jan. 24, 2011
Contact: Jennifer Jackson Sanner, KU Alumni Association, (785) 864-4760

KU to honor 34 high school seniors from four north-central counties

More Information

LAWRENCE — Students from nine Kansas high schools will be honored Monday, Feb. 7, by the University of Kansas Alumni Association and KU Endowment.

A total of 34 seniors from high schools in Cloud, Jewell, Mitchell and Republic counties will be recognized for their academic achievements and named Kansas Honor Scholars at a 6:30 p.m. dinner and program at North Central Kansas Technical College, Student Union, 3033 U.S. Highway 24, Beloit.

The Kansas Honors Program celebrates its 40th anniversary this year. Since 1971, the program has recognized 114,000 scholars, who rank in the top 10 percent of their high school senior classes and are selected regardless of occupational plans or higher-education goals. Each year, the KU Alumni Association and its volunteers host 41 programs that reach all 105 counties across the state.

During the ceremony, each student will receive an American Heritage Dictionary, in both hardback and electronic versions, presented by Michelle Miles, assistant director of Kansas programs for the KU Alumni Association.

Marlesa Roney, vice provost for student success, will speak to the students and their parents and guests.

Honored students will be guests of the alumni association and KU Endowment; parents and area alumni are welcome to attend at a cost of $15 each.

Community volunteers collect reservations, coordinate details and serve as local contacts for the event. Michele Heidrick, of Beloit, is the site coordinator and the Cloud County and Mitchell County coordinator. Cathy Dauner, of Mankato, is the Jewell County and Republic County coordinator.

The Kansas Honors Program is made possible by KU Endowment and proceeds from the Jayhawk license plate program.

Beloit High School: Cody Gibbens, Jessica Hughes, Traci Lawrence, Robert Ludwig, Kimberly Mealiff and Kevin Williams

Concordia High School: Carlee Baumann, Kayla Champlin, Madison Deal, Christina Fabarez, Leah Haden, Ashleigh Johnson, Nathan Koerber, Creighton Leif, Richelle Luongo, Liv McGuire, Chelsie Monzon and Andrew Timme

Glasco High School: Bryanna Cool

Miltonvale High School: Zachary DeMars and Brady Maritin

Pike Valley High School: Bradley Deneault, Carly Freed, Ashley Gross and Cody Jensen

Repbulic County High School: Darsha Bechard, Celsey Beneda, Wade Gutierrez and Cody Zenger

Rock Hills High School: Kevin Garman, Michaela Simmelink and Allison Thompson

St. John Catholic School: Vanessa Kresin

Tipton Catholic High School: Amber Corpstein

The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus.

kunews@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045

KU Today

Subscribe to our daily newsletter covering research, academics, media coverage, campus news, events & more. Subscribe




The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).