KU News Release

June 13, 2011
Contact: Kristine Latta, Hall Center for the Humanities, 785-864-7823

Six students chosen to be Hall Center Scholars

LAWRENCE — Six outstanding undergraduates at the University of Kansas have been selected as Hall Center Scholars for 2011-12.

Luke Brinker (junior, Topeka); Greg Loving (senior, McPherson); Kelly Cosby (senior, Overland Park); Kellen Bolt (senior, Iola and Lacygne); Stephanie Jian (senior, Lawrence) and Kelsey Murrell (senior, Overland Park, Kan., and Kearney, Mo.) will have the opportunity to engage with the prominent public intellectuals who speak in the Hall Center’s Humanities Lecture Series.

Front row from left: Kelsey Murrell, Stephanie Jian and Kelly Crosby. Back row from left: Luke Brinker, Greg Loving and Kellen Bolt.

Each scholar also receives an award of $500. The students selected for the honor will spend the academic year in conversation with the visiting speakers of the Hall Center’s highly regarded Humanities Lecture Series.

Bolt was particularly excited about the scholars’ role in humanities outreach.

“My experiences in the classroom and through the Hall Center lectures have shown me the transformative power that the humanities have,” Bolt said. “This program will allow me to interact with the people who are showing that the humanities are still highly valuable.”

The Humanities Lecture Series is the Hall Center’s most significant public outreach program, bringing prominent intellectuals to speak to the campus and wider community.

The scholars play an important role by promoting the unique contribution of the humanities and spreading the word about the series to other undergraduates at KU.

“I want to be a part of the effort to ensure that these visits have a major impact on the undergraduate community here at KU,” said Loving.

The Humanities Lecture Series speakers for 2011-12 will be Laurence Rees, Diane Ravitch, Louis Menand, Jeff Moran, Alain de Botton and Jamaica Kincaid. The series has long provided a forum for interdisciplinary dialogue between renowned speakers, the university and the surrounding communities.

Hall Center Scholar awards, made possible by donations to the Friends of the Hall Center, are open to KU undergraduates with strong academic credentials who have demonstrated significant engagement in the university community.

The scholars are listed below by hometown, level in school, major, parents’ names and high schools.

From Iola 66749 and Lacygne
Kellen Thomas Bolt, senior in American studies and English; Kay Bolt (Iola) and Ken Bolt (Lacygne); Allen County Community College; Iola Senior High School.

From Lawrence 66047
Stephanie Hu Jian, senior in cognitive psychology; Xiaolin Hu and Xiaodong Jian; Metropolitan Community College; Lawrence High School.

From Overland Park 66224
Kelly Beth Cosby, senior in English and political science; Mark Cosby and Jimmie Marie Cosby; Johnson County Community College; Blue Valley High School.

From Overland Park 66210 and Kearney, Mo.
Kelsey Rene Murrell, senior in journalism, English and Spanish; Dawn Murrell (Overland Park) and Ronald Murrell (Kearney, Mo.); Metropolitan Community College; Kearney R-1 Senior High School, Kearney, Mo.

From Lacygne 66040 and Iola
Kellen Thomas Bolt. SEE ALLEN COUNTY

From McPherson 67460
James Gregory Loving, senior in chemical engineering and economics; James and Dawn Loving; McPherson High School.

From Topeka 66614
Luke Brinker, junior in history; Stephanie Brinker; Topeka High School.

From Kearney 64060 and Overland Park, Kan.
Kelsey Rene Murrell. SEE JOHNSON COUNTY

The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus.

kunews@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045

KU Today

Subscribe to our daily newsletter covering research, academics, media coverage, campus news, events & more. Subscribe




The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).