KU News Release

June 3, 2011
Contact: Janet Riley, Budget Office, 785-864-3134

KU’s Phi Beta Kappa chapter inducts 93 new members

Go to county and state directory

LAWRENCE — The University of Kansas Alpha chapter of Phi Beta Kappa academic honor society has initiated 93 new members.

Steven Epstein, president of KU’s Phi Beta Kappa chapter and the Ahmanson-Murphy Distinguished Professor of Medieval History, presided at the May 21 ceremony. Marlesa Roney, vice provost for Student Success, welcomed and congratulated the new initiates as they received their Phi Beta Kappa certificates and handbooks.

Amy Devitt, professor of English, gave an address titled “Great Expectations.”

Loren Cressler, a senior in classical languages from Lawrence, who was inducted last year, gave the student address.

Election to Phi Beta Kappa recognizes a student’s high academic achievement while pursuing a broad and substantive liberal arts curriculum. To be eligible for consideration for membership, students must have senior status and a minimum grade-point average of 3.65 on a 4.0 scale.

Phi Beta Kappa, the oldest national academic honorary society, was founded Dec. 5, 1776, at the College of William and Mary in Williamsburg, Va. KU’s Alpha chapter, founded in 1890, was the first chapter west of the Mississippi and is one of 280 Phi Beta Kappa chapters nationwide. About 10 percent of institutions of higher learning in the United States have Phi Beta Kappa chapters. Janet Riley, associate director of the Budget Office, is KU’s chapter adviser and secretary-treasurer.

New members are listed below by hometown, major, parents’ names and high school.

The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus.

kunews@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045

KU Today

Subscribe to our daily newsletter covering research, academics, media coverage, campus news, events & more. Subscribe




The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).