KU News Release

June 30, 2011
Contact: Kristi Henderson, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, 785-864-3663

KU College of Liberal Arts and Sciences offers more than $30,000 in scholarships

LAWRENCE — The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences at the University of Kansas honored 18 students with $30,200 in scholarships and awards this spring.

Outstanding undergraduates were chosen from a pool of more than 100 worthy applicants for awards and scholarships during the 2011-12 academic year. Students will receive amounts ranging from $800 to $6,400.

Scholarships and awards are granted based on merit, need or both, but students may utilize them differently. Scholarships provide funds that may be used for tuition expenses only, while awards provide cash that may be used without restrictions. Both awards and scholarships are made possible by gifts to the KU Endowment Association from alumni and friends.

Of the prizes awarded, two scholarships and two awards were available to students in any major who exhibit academic promise, including:

— Grace Caroline Eaton Scholarship, for male sophomores
— Paul B. Lawson Award, for a junior student
— Van Eekeren Family Scholarship
— Veta B. Lear Memorial Award, for a freshman with a 4.0 grade-point average during his or her first year

In addition, the College offered scholarships and awards to students in specific courses of study, including:

— Allen S. Wilber Scholarship, given to a graduating senior to assist him or her in pursuing graduate study at KU with a preference given to students planning graduate work in a social science field or modern languages and literature.
— Betty Wahlstedt Student Memorial Award, given to a graduating senior planning graduate study in the behavioral sciences.
— Hilden Gibson Award, given to a junior or senior who is planning to continue his or her education at KU after graduation with outstanding scholarship in the social sciences.
— Kate Stephens Fellowship Award, given to a graduating senior planning graduate studies in literature, history or ethics.

The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences enrolls more than 17,000 students and encompasses more than 55 departments, programs, centers and the School of the Arts. Nearly half of the students at KU earn their bachelor’s degrees from the College. Courses in the College cover hundreds of subjects including history, literature, chemistry, biology, art history, mathematics, anthropology, psychology, foreign language and political science.

Funds for the awards and scholarships are managed by KU Endowment, the independent nonprofit foundation serving as the official fundraising and fund-management organization for KU. Founded in 1891, KU Endowment was the first foundation of its kind at a U.S. public university.

The scholarship and award recipients to be honored by the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences are listed below by hometown, level in school, major or majors, parents’ names, high schools, previous schools attended (when available) and award received.

From El Dorado 67042
Kylie Nicole McAllister, senior in political Science; Scott and Kelly McAllister; El Dorado High School; Butler Community College; Hilden Gibson Award.

From Lawrence 66044
Edward Roy Morehouse, junior in geology; Redlands Adult School ; Central Texas College. Killeen , Texas; Van Eekeren Family Scholarship.

Nathan Allen Wendt, senior in atmospheric Science; Marshall High School; bachelor’s degree from University of Wisconsin La Crosse; Grace Caroline Eaton Scholarship.

Laura Dyan White, senior in applied Behavioral Science; Shawnee Mission South High School; Barton County Community College; Allen S. Wilber Scholarship.

From Lewis 67552
Autumn Desiree Smith, sophomore preparing to major in medicine; Patricia Ford; Kinsley High School; Dodge City Community College; Veta B. Lear Award.

From Lenexa 66215
Emily Madonna Owens, senior in cognitive psychology; Mark and Susan Owens; Shawnee Mission West High School; Johnson County Community College; Betty Wahlstedt Student Memorial Award.

From Olathe 66062
William Ryan Cleek, junior in chemistry; Alan and Carol Cleek; Olathe North High School; Johnson County Community College; Grace Caroline Eaton Scholarship.

From Smolan 67456
Jon Mikael Nelson, sophomore in biochemistry; Marta and Ward Nelson; Smoky Valley High School; Grace Caroline Eaton Scholarship.

From Lenora 67645
Annette M Becker, senior in English and history of art; John and Ann Becker; Norton High School; Kate Stephens Fellowship.

From Salina 67401
Tasha Lynrose Cerny, sophomore in English; Daniel and Mary Cerny; Salina High School South; Veta B. Lear Award.

Skyler Quinn Richardson, junior in human biology and preparing to major in medicine; Clarence and Bernit Richardson; Salina High School South; Van Eekeren Family Scholarship.

From Wichita 67228
Emerson Forrest James, junior in physics and preparing to major in medicine; Lance and Ramey James; Trinity Academy; Grace Caroline Eaton Scholarship.

From Topeka 66614
Luke Brinker, junior in history and preparing to major in law; Stephanie Brinker; Topeka High School; Grace Caroline Eaton Scholarship.

From Topeka 66605
Jason Paul Kingman, senior in anthropology and religious studies; Mark and Sheryl Kingman; Shawnee Heights Senior High School; Kate Stephens Fellowship.

From Newport Beach 92660
John Hampton Tyson II, senior in psychology and preparing to major in medicine; Pete and Karen Tyson; Allen S. Wilber Scholarship.

From Boulder 80301
Sararose Finesilver-Saunders, freshman in political science; Susan Finesilver; Boulder High School; Van Eekeren Family Scholarship.

From Columbia 65203
John Robert Worley, senior in human biology; Bob and Karen Worley; Columbia-Rock Bridge Senior High School; Paul B. Lawson Award.

From Tianjin 300102
Tianze Yan, sophomore in mathematics; Xinzhong Yan; Hongyun Zhang; Tianjin Yaohua High School; Van Eekeren Family Scholarship.

The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus.

kunews@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045

KU Today

Subscribe to our daily newsletter covering research, academics, media coverage, campus news, events & more. Subscribe




The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).