KU News Release

March 15, 2011
Contact: Diane Silver, KU Energy Council, 785-864-1759

Conference to examine all aspects of energy policy

LAWRENCE — A retired Shell Oil Co. president, a wind energy developer, a lawmaker and a representative of the Environmental Protection Agency are among the speakers headlining the University of Kansas Energy Conference.

Sponsored by the KU Energy Club and the KU Energy Council, the April 14 event at the Oread hotel in Lawrence seeks to prompt debate on all aspects of energy policy. The conference includes panels on transportation, carbon regulation and utilities and electricity generation.

John Hofmeister, retired president of Shell Oil Co. and the author of the 2010 book “Why We Hate the Oil Companies” will give the keynote address. After retiring from Shell in 2008, Hofmeister founded Citizens for Affordable Energy, which advocates for nonpartisan affordable energy solutions. Today he is the chief executive of the nonprofit group.

Among the panelists who have already confirmed their participation are

— Matt Gilhousen, senior vice president of project development of the Lenexa-based wind developer TradeWind Energy
— Rep. Tom Sloan, R-Lawrence, a nationally known expert on energy policy
— Michael Bruce, senior adviser to the Department of Energy’s Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy
— Colin Hansen, executive director of Kansas Municipal Utilities
— Ward Burns, from the Region 7 office of the Environmental Protection Agency
— Susan Williams, associate professor of chemical and petroleum engineering at KU and director of KU’s Biodiesel Initiative

Also expected to participate are representatives of Westar Energy. Lawrence artist Ryan Waggoner will exhibit his show “An Appetite for Energy,” which features photos of how society both wastes and can conserve energy.

The conference costs $45. Students may attend for free, but they must register. For information on student registration and the promotion code, contact Erik Deddens at ededdens@ku.edu.

The KU Energy Club is a student organization founded in 2010. The KU Energy Council was formed in 2007 to provide the state and industry with energy research, development and education. Led by KU distinguished professors, the council is a division of the KU Center for Research.

The University of Kansas is a major comprehensive research and teaching university. University Relations is the central public relations office for KU's Lawrence campus.

kunews@ku.edu | (785) 864-3256 | 1314 Jayhawk Blvd., Lawrence, KS 66045

KU Today

Subscribe to our daily newsletter covering research, academics, media coverage, campus news, events & more. Subscribe




The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).